2689686 Ontario Inc. v. Lloyd's Underwriters
- Citation
- 2025 ONCA 801
- Status
- Judgment
- Jurisdiction
- Canada
- Court
- Court of Appeal for Ontario
- Decision
- 24 November 2025
- Posture
- Civil Insurance / Appeal From Summary Judgment (motion for Summary Judgment Granted Below)
- Language
- English
More details
- Court
- Court of Appeal for Ontario
- Decision
- 24 November 2025
- Posture
- Civil Insurance / Appeal From Summary Judgment (motion for Summary Judgment Granted Below)
- Language
- English
On this page
Professional case brief
Research organized from the available case record
01
Holding and result
The summary judgment was appropriate because the respondent's sworn expert evidence established the roof collapse was caused by frost heaving, which is expressly excluded under the policy's "frost or freezing" exclusion, and enforcement of that exclusion did not nullify the policy's core coverage; appeal dismissed.
Court disposition
Appeal dismissed.
Orders
- Summary judgment below affirmed.
- Costs to the respondent in the agreed upon amount of $12,900 all inclusive.
02
Material facts
Parties
2689686 Ontario Inc.
Appellant Counsel: John H. Reiterowski; Vyshnavey ParamalingamLloyd's Underwriters
Respondent Counsel: Gerry GillAime Mil Rivard
Respondent Counsel: Gerry Gill1687979 Ontario Inc. (Rivard Engineering)
Respondent Counsel: Gerry GillAmounts and remedies
- Costs Awarded: CAD 12,900
03
Procedural history
Posture
Civil Insurance / Appeal From Summary Judgment (motion for Summary Judgment Granted Below)
04
Questions and positions
Legal issues
- 01
Whether summary judgment was appropriate
- 02
Whether the "frost or freezing" exclusion applied to the loss
- 03
Whether the doctrine of nullification precluded enforcement of the exclusion
Party arguments
- Applicant
- The motion judge erred by granting summary judgment; the exclusion did not apply; the doctrine of nullification should prevent enforcement of the exclusion because it would defeat the purpose of the Builder's Risk Policy.
- Respondent
- Summary judgment was appropriate; respondent's expert evidence established the loss was caused by frost heaving, bringing it within the policy exclusion; enforcing the exclusion does not nullify the policy's coverage for other risks.
05
Court’s reasoning
Legal principles
- 01
Rules of Civil Procedure, R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 194, r.20.04(2.1)
A judge on a summary judgment motion may weigh evidence, make credibility findings and draw reasonable inferences.
- 02
Weston Ornamental Iron Works Ltd. v. Continental Insurance Co., 1981 CarswellOnt 1324 (Ont. C.A.), para. 16
Exclusion clauses should not be interpreted so as to defeat the main object of the insurance contract; doctrine of nullification applies where enforcement would virtually nullify coverage.
- 03
Decision below and appellate reasoning in 2025 ONCA 801
Where expert opinions are uncontradicted and properly sworn, a motion judge may accept and base findings on them in summary disposition.
06
Ratio, limits and disposition
Ratio decidendi
The summary judgment was appropriate because the respondent's sworn expert evidence established the roof collapse was caused by frost heaving, which is expressly excluded under the policy's "frost or freezing" exclusion, and enforcement of that exclusion did not nullify the policy's core coverage; appeal dismissed.
Obiter and limits
- Parties on summary judgment motions must put their best evidence forward; an equivocal unsworn expert report is insufficient to create a genuine issue.
- Appellate court will defer to motion judge's credibility and weighing of evidence on summary disposition.
- Enforcing a specific exclusion does not render a Builder's Risk Policy illusory where other perils remain insured.
Court disposition
Appeal dismissed.
- Summary judgment below affirmed.
- Costs to the respondent in the agreed upon amount of $12,900 all inclusive.
Source and reliance status
Court of Appeal for Ontario · 24 November 2025
This page organises the available record for research. Confirm quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the official source before relying on the case.
Judgment reading view
Judgment text
The complete available source text.
Court of Appeal for Ontario
Judgment· 24 November 2025
2689686 Ontario Inc. v. Lloyd's Underwriters Collection Decisions of the Court of Appeal Date 2025-11-24 Neutral citation 2025 ONCA 801 Docket numbers COA-25-CV-0173 Judges Copeland, Jill M.; Wilson, Darla A.; Pomerance, Renee M. Subject Civil Decision Content
COURT OF APPEAL FOR ONTARIO CITATION: 2689686 Ontario Inc. v. Lloyd's Underwriters, 2025 ONCA 801 DATE: 20251124 DOCKET: COA-25-CV-0173 Copeland, Wilson and Pomerance JJ.A.
BETWEEN 2689686 Ontario Inc. Plaintiff (Appellant) and Lloyd’s Underwriters*, Aime Mil Rivard, and 1687979 Ontario. Inc also known as Rivard Engineering Defendant (Respondent*) John H. Reiterowski and Vyshnavey Paramalingam, for the appellant Gerry Gill, for the respondent Heard: November 7, 2025 On appeal from the judgment of Justice Grant R. Dow of the Superior Court of Justice, dated October 3, 2024, with reasons reported at 2024 ONSC 3980.
REASONS FOR DECISION [1] The respondent, Lloyd’s Underwriters, brought a motion for summary judgment and dismissal of an action by the appellant, 2689686 Ontario Inc., regarding insurance coverage under the Builder’s Risk Policy it issued to the appellants. The respondent sought a determination of whether the Builder’s Risk Policy afforded coverage for the loss sustained on approximately April 1, 2020 at its property located on Duncan Avenue South in Kirkland Lake. The motion was brought after pleadings closed and examinations for discovery were complete. The motion judge granted summary judgment, finding that the loss suffered was due to frost followed by heaving that caused the roof to fail, which was one of the perils excluded under the policy. The appellant appeals from the motion judge’s decision, arguing that the motion judge erred in three ways: in finding this was an appropriate case for summary judgment; in finding the “frost or freezing” exclusion was applicable; and in failing to apply the doctrine of nullification. [2] We do not agree that the motion judge made these errors and dismiss the appeal for the reasons that follow. Summary Judgment [3] The case involved the application of an exclusion clause contained in an insurance policy. We agree with the motion judge that such a case is amenable to determination by way of a summary judgment motion. The motion judge
determined that the material enabled him to make the necessary findings, and he found there was no genuine issue requiring a trial. We see no error in his analysis. We do not accept the submission of the appellant that where the expert reports arrive at different conclusions, the court ought not to grant summary judgment. Rule 20.04 (2.1) of the Rules of Civil Procedure, R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 194, enables a judge to weigh the evidence, make credibility findings and draw any reasonable inference. The motion judge considered the evidence filed on the motion and determined that he could assess the evidence properly in order to arrive at a just result. His decision is entitled to deference. Different Expert Opinions [4] In order to determine the cause of the roof collapse, the motion judge had the expert reports of the structural engineers retained by the parties. The report of the expert retained by the appellant was equivocal; he said simply that he “did not notice any noticeable frost up heave damage” and that he had been informed that the roof collapsed due to historically high snow fall loading. The appellant’s expert did not put his evidence before the court in the form of a sworn affidavit. [5] The engineer retained by the respondent prepared two reports and swore an affidavit dated September 1, 2023. Her opinion was that the roof collapsed as a result of frost heaving in the
basement area. She addressed the possibility that the collapse of the roof was due to causes other than frost heaving. [6] The motion judge properly considered the evidence of the two experts and noted that the appellant’s expert had not offered an opinion on the conclusion of the respondent’s expert nor had the appellant’s expert been cross-examined. The appellant’s expert also offered no alternative explanation for the damage. As noted by the motion judge, this was a summary judgment motion, and the parties had the obligation to put their best foot forward. He found that the opinion of the respondent’s expert was “uncontested”. She explained how she arrived at her conclusion of the cause of the roof collapse, and she also set out why she did not accept that it was caused by heavy snowfall. The motion judge found on the evidence that the collapse of the roof was due to heaving caused by frost. Since under subparagraph 6B(e) of the policy “frost or freezing” is excluded from coverage, the motion judge concluded that the policy did not afford coverage to the appellant for the loss suffered on or around April 1, 2020. That finding was available to him on the evidence and we agree with it. [7] The motion judge gave cogent reasons for his acceptance of the opinion of the respondent’s expert. He made no error in his analysis. The appellant invites this court to undertake its own
assessment of the evidence, which is not the function of this court. Doctrine of Nullification [8] We do not accept the submission of the appellant that this exclusion clause ought not to be enforced because to do so would be inconsistent with the reason the policy was purchased. [9] The doctrine of nullification was clearly described by this court in Weston Ornamental Iron Works Ltd. v. Continental Insurance Co., 1981 CarswellOnt 1324 (Ont. C.A.), at para. 16, referred to by the motion judge: The exclusion clause should not be interpreted in a way which is repugnant to or inconsistent with the main purpose of the insurance coverage but so as to give effect to it. Thus, even if the exemption clause were found to be clear and unambiguous it should not be enforced by the courts when the result would be to defeat the main object of the contract or virtually nullify the coverage sought for protection from anticipated risks. [10] This was a Builder’s Risk Policy that covered direct physical loss or damage, subject to certain specified risks set out in the policy. Enforcing the exclusion for frost and freezing does not negate the coverage under the policy. Damage arising from fire, vandalism, wind and other perils was covered under this policy; damage arising from “frost or freezing” was not. This was not a case of illusory coverage to which the doctrine of nullification would apply. The motion judge was correct to find that it was not applicable. Disposition [11] The appeal is dismissed. Costs to the respondent in the agreed upon amount of $12,900 all inclusive. “J. Copeland J.A.” “D.A. Wilson J.A.” “R. Pomerance J.A.”
Case-aware research
Ask AI about this case
The judgment and available research above are public. New questions open in a separate private conversation grounded in this case.