Canada Judgment

Supreme Court of British Columbia

HCV Settlement Agreement Claim No. 9817

On this page

Professional case brief

Research organized from the available case record

Source document

01

Holding and result

Because there was no medical evidence that HCV caused or materially contributed to the deceased's death, the Administrator and Referee correctly denied the claim and the court must dismiss the application opposing confirmation.

Court disposition

Application dismissed; Referee's decision confirmed

Orders

  • Application to oppose confirmation dismissed
  • Referee's decision confirming Administrator's denial of benefits confirmed

02

Material facts

Parties

Claimant (personal representative of deceased)

Claimant Counsel: Self-Represented

British Columbia Fund

Respondent Counsel: William A. Ferguson

Amounts and remedies

  • Deceased Age at Death: 81
  • Year of Death: 1,998
  • Claim Number: 9,817

03

Procedural history

  1. Posture

    HCV 1986 1990 Transfused Settlement Agreement Claim / Application to Oppose Confirmation of Referee's Decision Before the Supreme Court of British Columbia

04

Questions and positions

Legal issues

Party arguments

Applicant
The claimant asserted the deceased was infected with Hepatitis C from a transfusion in a B.C. hospital and that the infection made his remaining years miserable, implying entitlement to benefits payable to beneficiaries.
Respondent
The British Columbia Fund relied on medical evidence including the physician's checking of 'no' to whether HCV materially contributed to death and the death certificate attributing death to stroke and cardiac/respiratory conditions, arguing there was no medical basis to find causation and the denial was therefore correct.

05

Court’s reasoning

  1. 01

    1986-1990 Hepatitis C Settlement Agreement and TRAN2 form

    Claimant must establish that HCV infection caused or materially contributed to the death to qualify for benefits

  2. 02

    Physician's Medical Certificate of Death and the Administrator's adjudicative process

    Medical evidence is required to support causation findings for entitlement to benefits

  3. 03

    Administrative law deference principle applied by the court

    A court will not overturn administrative or Referee decisions in absence of evidence demonstrating error or lack of evidentiary basis

06

Ratio, limits and disposition

Ratio decidendi

Because there was no medical evidence that HCV caused or materially contributed to the deceased's death, the Administrator and Referee correctly denied the claim and the court must dismiss the application opposing confirmation.

Court disposition

Application dismissed; Referee's decision confirmed

  • Application to oppose confirmation dismissed
  • Referee's decision confirming Administrator's denial of benefits confirmed

Source and reliance status

Supreme Court of British Columbia · 23 February 2004

This page organises the available record for research. Confirm quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the official source before relying on the case.

Judgment reading view

Judgment text

The complete available source text.

Source document

Supreme Court of British Columbia

Judgment· 23 February 2004

2004 BCSC 247

2004 BCSC 247 HCV Settlement Agreement Claim No. 9817

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF BRITISH COLUMBIA Citation: HCV Settlement Agreement Claim No. 9817, 2004 BCSC 247 Date:20040223 Docket: C965349Registry: Vancouver IN THE MATTER OF THE HCV 1986-1990

TRANSFUSED SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT RE: CLAIM NO. 9817 Before: The Honourable Mr. Justice Pitfield Reasons for Judgment Counsel for the Claimant: Self-Represented Counsel for the British Columbia Fund William A. Ferguson Submissions Received from Fund Counsel: Submissions Received from Claimant: November 28, 2003 None Vancouver, B.C. [1] The Claimant opposes confirmation of a Referee's decision upholding the Administrator's ruling that the Claimant does not qualify for compensation under the 1986-1990 Hepatitis C Settlement Agreement. [2] The Claimant is the personal representative of his deceased father who was infected with the HCV antibody by a transfusion of blood products received in the Class period. The Administrator denied the Claimant's application for benefits payable to the deceased's beneficiaries on the basis that medical evidence submitted with the claim did not support the conclusion that the HCV infection caused or materially contributed to the deceased's death. [3] The Claimant appealed the Administrator's decision to a Referee. The decision was upheld. The Claimant opposes confirmation of the Referee's decision for the following reason: Because my father was infected with Hepatitis C which made his remaining years miserable. He was infected through a blood transfusion in a B.C. hospital. [4] In his Reasons, the Referee said the following: The Deceased, according

to a document called Registration of Death (claim file p. 79) was born on April 9, 1917. He died at 81 years of age on June 16, 1998. The Physician's Medical Certificate of Death completed by the same general physician who completed the above-noted TRAN2 form indicated that the cause of death was stroke and other significant contributing factors were atrial fibrillation and aortic valve replacement (claim file p.97). In the TRAN2 form, the Deceased's doctor was asked specifically in question 31: "If the HCV Infected Person has died, did his or her infection with HCV materially contribute to his or her death?" In reply, the doctor, faced with a choice of ticking the yes box or the no box, checked the no box. In other words, the doctor who treated the deceased for nine years before his death and completed the Medical Certificate of Death stated that HCV did not materially cause or contribute to the death. However, the doctor responded to the secondary question on the form: "If yes, how did the HCV Infected Person's infection with HCV materially contribute to his or her death?" The doctor has written "Not available. Died of congestive heart failure/secondary to heart valve disease & COPD [chronic obstructive pulmonary disease] (claim file p. 48)." [5] I have carefully considered the Referee's reasons and I have reviewed the Claimant's file in its entirety. In the absence of any medical evidence that HCV caused or materially contributed to death, the Administrator had no alternative but to conclude that the Claimant was not entitled to the benefits claimed under the Settlement Agreement. In the circumstances, the application to oppose confirmation of the Referee's decision must be dismissed. "I.H. Pitfield, J." The Honourable Mr. Justice I.H. Pitfield

Source wording is retained. Consult the source document for its original formatting and pagination.

Authorities

Authorities used by the court

Cases, legislation, regulations, and constitutional provisions identified in the available record.

No structured authorities are available for this judgment.

Refer to the full judgment and official source for citations that have not yet been extracted.

Case-aware research

Ask AI about this case

The judgment and available research above are public. New questions open in a separate private conversation grounded in this case.

About this LexChat collection

This page organizes the available case record for research. Verify quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the source document. Corrections can be reported to hello@esheria.ai.

Legal information, not legal advice. Research summaries do not replace the judgment.