Jirasek v. Zhao
- Citation
- 2020 BCCA 308
- Status
- Judgment
- Jurisdiction
- Canada
- Court
- British Columbia Court of Appeal
- Decision
- 2 November 2020
- Posture
- Civil Appeal From Order Striking Notice of Civil Claim / Hearing in Court of Appeal; Appeal From Supreme Court of British Columbia Order Dated May 15, 2019
- Language
- English
More details
- Court
- British Columbia Court of Appeal
- Decision
- 2 November 2020
- Posture
- Civil Appeal From Order Striking Notice of Civil Claim / Hearing in Court of Appeal; Appeal From Supreme Court of British Columbia Order Dated May 15, 2019
- Language
- English
On this page
Professional case brief
Research organized from the available case record
01
Holding and result
The chambers judge correctly struck the notice of civil claim because the Workers Compensation Act bars a worker who files with the Board from suing the employer for workplace injuries and the claim impermissibly sought to obtain compensation and relitigate matters that fall within the exclusive WCB process; the proper remedy is judicial review of the Board's decisions, not a collateral civil action against the employer.
Court disposition
Appeal dismissed; chambers judge's order striking the notice of civil claim upheld; application to admit new evidence dismissed
Orders
- Appeal dismissed
- Notice of civil claim struck
- Application to file new evidence dismissed
- Each party to bear their own costs of this proceeding
02
Material facts
Parties
Vaclav Jirasek
Appellant/plaintiff Counsel: V. JirasekCatherine Zhao
Respondent/defendant (property Owner/employer) Counsel: A. SolimanKevin Hughes
Respondent/defendant (excavator Operator)Mana Excavation Company Owner
Respondent/defendant (company Owner)Amounts and remedies
- Height Reduction Cm: 4
03
Procedural history
Posture
Civil Appeal From Order Striking Notice of Civil Claim / Hearing in Court of Appeal; Appeal From Supreme Court of British Columbia Order Dated May 15, 2019
04
Questions and positions
Legal issues
- 01
Whether the plaintiff's civil claim against his employer is barred by the Workers Compensation Act
- 02
Whether the civil claim impermissibly seeks to circumvent the exclusive WCB process and relitigate matters decided by the Board and Appeal Tribunal
- 03
Whether the chambers judge erred in striking the claim under Supreme Court Rule 9-5(1)(a) and (d)
- 04
Whether new evidence filed on appeal should be admitted
Party arguments
- Applicant
- Appellant contended he was not suing for the workplace injury itself but for the employer's conduct in failing to report and cooperate with the Board, which frustrated his ability to obtain fair compensation; he sought reinstatement of his civil claim and admission of new evidence showing more serious injuries.
- Respondent
- Respondents and the chambers judge maintained the Workers Compensation Act bars a worker who files a claim with the Board from suing the employer for workplace injuries (s.10); the civil claim sought compensation for the same injuries and attempted to circumvent the statutory WCB process; any challenge to the Board's handling must proceed by review/judicial review not by a separate tort claim; the new evidence was irrelevant to whether a cause of action against the employer existed and much of it could have been presented below.
05
Court’s reasoning
Legal principles
- 01
Workers Compensation Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 492, s.10
A worker who files a claim with the Workers' Compensation Board is barred from suing the employer for workplace injuries.
- 02
Workers Compensation Act and governing jurisprudence
The Workers' Compensation Board has exclusive jurisdiction to determine entitlement to compensation and related factual and medical issues; civil courts must not permit collateral attacks that evade that scheme.
- 03
Workers Compensation Act and administrative law principles
Judicial review is the proper mechanism to challenge Board decisions and to allege procedural or evidentiary failures by the Board.
- 04
Supreme Court Rules, B.C., Rule 9-5(1)(a),(d)
A pleading that discloses no reasonable cause of action can be struck under the court's rules (no viable legal basis or is statute-barred).
06
Ratio, limits and disposition
Ratio decidendi
The chambers judge correctly struck the notice of civil claim because the Workers Compensation Act bars a worker who files with the Board from suing the employer for workplace injuries and the claim impermissibly sought to obtain compensation and relitigate matters that fall within the exclusive WCB process; the proper remedy is judicial review of the Board's decisions, not a collateral civil action against the employer.
Obiter and limits
- The Court encouraged the appellant to pursue his existing petition for judicial review and to seek pro bono legal assistance (Access Pro Bono).
- The Board has mechanisms to compel an employer to provide information; alleged employer non-cooperation should be addressed within the Board process.
- Most of the new evidence would not meet the standard for admission on appeal because it existed earlier and is not material to whether a valid cause of action against the employer exists.
Court disposition
Appeal dismissed; chambers judge's order striking the notice of civil claim upheld; application to admit new evidence dismissed
- Appeal dismissed
- Notice of civil claim struck
- Application to file new evidence dismissed
- Each party to bear their own costs of this proceeding
Source and reliance status
British Columbia Court of Appeal · 2 November 2020
This page organises the available record for research. Confirm quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the official source before relying on the case.
Judgment reading view
Judgment text
The complete available source text.
British Columbia Court of Appeal
Judgment· 2 November 2020
2020 BCCA 308 Jirasek v. Zhao
COURT OF APPEAL FOR BRITISH COLUMBIA Citation: Jirasek v. Zhao, 2020 BCCA 308 Date: 20201102 Docket: CA46155 Between: Vaclav Jirasek Appellant (Plaintiff) And Catherine Zhao (property owner/employer), Kevin Hughes (excavator operator), "Mana" Excavation Company Owner Respondents (Defendants) Before: The Honourable Chief Justice Bauman The Honourable Madam Justice Fenlon The Honourable Mr. Justice Fitch On appeal from: An order of the Supreme Court of British Columbia, dated May 15, 2019 (Jirasek v. Zhao, 2019 BCSC 828, Vancouver Docket S1611909). Oral Reasons for Judgment The Appellant, appearing in person: V. Jirasek Counsel for the Respondent, Catherine Zhao: A. Soliman Place and Date of Hearing: Vancouver, British Columbia November 2, 2020 Place and Date of Judgment: Vancouver, British Columbia November 2, 2020 Summary: Appellant was injured in a workplace accident. He applied to the Workers' Compensation Board, which, in a series of decisions, awarded the appellant some compensation. Appellant filed a petition for judicial review of the Board's decisions, seeking additional compensation, but did not further pursue the petition. Appellant instead filed and pursued a civil claim against the respondents for frustrating his efforts to obtain proper compensation from the Board. The chambers judge struck the claim on the basis that the appellant was barred from pursuing damages
for work place injuries subject to the process in the Workers Compensation Act. The appellant seeks reinstatement of the claim. Held: Appeal dismissed. The judge did not err in striking the claim, which attempted to circumvent the WCB process and obtain damages directly from his employer. It remained open to the appellant to pursue judicial review of the Board's decisions. [1] FENLON J.A.: Vaclav Jirasek asks this Court to reinstate his claim against Catherine Zhao. It was struck out by a judge because she found it involved workplace injuries that can only be dealt with by the Workers' Compensation Board, not the court. Mr. Jirasek also asks this Court to consider new affidavit evidence he has gathered since the judge made her decision. [2] I will begin with the accident and the steps Mr. Jirasek took to try to get compensation for his injuries. [3] The accident happened on December 23, 2014. Mr. Jirasek was working on a property owned by Ms. Zhao. It was a multi-level, challenging worksite. He was struck on the head by the hydraulic bucket of an excavator as he worked spreading gravel on a lower level. He kept working that day and returned to work the next day because he needed the money, but he says that what started as a sore neck gradually developed into a significant chronic pain and debilitating spinal injuries, which have reduced his height by approximately four
centimeters and now require him to use a motorized cart and a cane. [4] Ms. Zhao did not report the accident initially. Mr. Jirasek filed an application with the Board on July 16, 2015, seeking compensation for neck strain. His claim was originally denied by the Board in August 2015 on the basis that there was insufficient evidence to show that his neck injury was caused by the accident. Eventually, the Workers' Compensation Appeal Tribunal overturned that decision in March 2017. The Appeal Tribunal found Mr. Jirasek had sustained what it described as a "minor neck strain" due to the December 23, 2014 accident. They sent his case back to the Board to determine the nature and extent of the benefits he was entitled to for that neck injury. [5] The Board found that the neck strain had resolved by June 2015 and that no benefits would be paid after that date. Because Mr. Jirasek had continued to work after the accident, the Board decided there was no compensation due for loss of wages. [6] In a later decision in July 2017, the Board also ruled that Mr. Jirasek's injury did not aggravate his pre-existing degenerative disc disease and found no evidence of a psychological condition caused by the accident. In September 2018, the Board considered Mr. Jirasek's request to have his chronic pain accepted as part of his claim so that he could be referred to a pain management clinic. The
Board denied that request as well. All of the Board's decisions were confirmed by the review division of the Board. [7] On April 21, 2017, Mr. Jirasek filed a petition for judicial review of the Board's decisions. He amended that petition on May 5, 2017. The Appeal Tribunal filed a response on May 18, 2018, but it appears that the petition has not been set for hearing. [8] Instead of following through with the judicial review, Mr. Jirasek filed the notice of civil claim that he is asking us on appeal to reinstate. He did that on December 23, 2016, two years exactly after his accident, but did not serve it on Ms. Zhao until August 2018. Under Part 3, "Legal Basis," Mr. Jirasek simply lists 11 statutes, provincial and federal; international treaties; and conventions. But, read as a whole, it is apparent that Mr. Jirasek wants to sue Ms. Zhao for not reporting his claim right away and for not cooperating with the Board's investigation of his claim--conduct he says frustrated his efforts to prove his injuries before the Board and obtain proper compensation. [9] The judge applied Supreme Court Rule 9-5(1)(a) and (d). She found that Mr. Jirasek did not have a valid claim because the Workers Compensation Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 492 at s. 10, says that a worker who files a claim with the Board is barred from suing his employer. The judge also found that the claim could not go ahead
because it was trying to overturn final decisions of the Board and Appeal Tribunal outside of the proper review process. [10] On appeal, Mr. Jirasek says the judge erred in striking his claim because she did not realize that he is not suing Ms. Zhao for his injuries; he is suing her instead for the way she dealt with the Board and frustrated his efforts to get fair compensation. He says he was denied proper recognition of how serious his injuries were because Ms. Zhao did not report the accident or provide documents or proof that the accident happened on her property. [11] I do not see that the judge made a mistake when she struck out the claim under Rule 9-5(1), because the claim against Ms. Zhao does not disclose a valid cause of action and because it deals with the same matters the Board dealt with. [12] First, even if Ms. Zhao did not have insurance and did not report the accident right away, Mr. Jirasek reported the claim, so the Board had it. Although the Board denied his claim initially, after an appeal it was sent back and addressed by the Board. As for Ms. Zhao not providing timely information about what happened, the issue before the Board was not whether the accident had occurred or how it had occurred. The issue before the Board was whether the accident caused the symptoms Mr. Jirasek was experiencing. That required the Board to look at medical evidence, and nothing
Ms. Zhao did or did not do could affect that analysis. [13] Second, if Ms. Zhao was not cooperating in any way to provide evidence Mr. Jirasek needed to prove his injury, that had to be dealt with by the Board as part of its process. The Board could have made Ms. Zhao provide information Mr. Jirasek needed. If the Board made a mistake and did not get the information it needed to assess Mr. Jirasek's claim, that could be pursued in a review of the Board's decision, but it does not provide grounds to sue Ms. Zhao. [14] Third, the action Mr. Jirasek wants to pursue against Ms. Zhao seeks compensation from her for the very injuries and pain and suffering and loss of ability to work that the Board addressed in its process. [15] Mr. Jirasek feels strongly that the Board has got it terribly wrong and has not accepted how seriously he was injured when the excavator bucket struck his head. He says his situation reflects a problem with smaller employers not following the rules that are there to keep all workers safe. Much of the new evidence Mr. Jirasek has put before us on this appeal goes to the issue of the nature of his injuries. It consists of letters from friends and acquaintances describing his deteriorating medical and psychological condition since the accident. It contains medical reports and photographs of Mr. Jirasek pre- and post-accident, which he says demonstrate his
injuries and how much his life has changed since his accident. Some of that evidence, in particular, a medical opinion from Mr. Jirasek's family doctor, Dr. Sundeep Singh Grewal, dated September 11, 2020, which notes multi-level spinal pathology, and a report from a pain specialist at St. Paul's Hospital, support his position that he suffered significant, not minor, injuries in the accident. [16] I have reviewed all the material Mr. Jirasek has filed. I note that most of it would not meet the test for accepting more evidence on appeal because it existed and could have been given to the judge at the hearing below. Even the updates and material that was not available before does not meet the test because it is not relevant to the issue of whether Mr. Jirasek has a valid claim against Ms. Zhao. It relates to the scope of Mr. Jirasek's injuries: Palmer v. The Queen, [1980] 1 S.C.R. 759. [17] Although Mr. Jirasek cannot pursue a claim against Ms. Zhao, that does not mean that his disagreement with the Board's assessment of his injuries and the award he received cannot be challenged. That decision can be reviewed by the court on judicial review after it has gone through the process mandated by the Workers Compensation Act. Mr. Jirasek was on the right track when he filed a petition to do just that in May 2017. He can, in that petition proceeding, ask the Supreme Court of British
Columbia to look at what the Board did--how it handled his claim and the information it got or did not get from Ms. Zhao--to see if the Board should be required to reconsider Mr. Jirasek's claim. But what Mr. Jirasek cannot do is to go completely outside the process in the Act and start a claim against Ms. Zhao for compensation for injuries that only the Board has the authority to decide. [18] I encourage Mr. Jirasek to seek help from Access Pro Bono, as he has in the past, and to do so in relation to the judicial review claim that is already filed in the Supreme Court of British Columbia. These reasons will be transcribed and provided to Mr. Jirasek and should be given to any lawyer who helps him with that judicial review. [19] To sum up, in my view, the judge was correct to strike out Mr. Jirasek's notice of civil claim. I would therefore dismiss the appeal and the application to file new evidence. [20] BAUMAN C.J.B.C.: I agree. [21] FITCH J.A.: I agree. [22] BAUMAN C.J.B.C.: The appeal is dismissed. [Submissions from counsel and appellant re: costs] [23] BAUMAN C.J.B.C.: The appeal is dismissed. Each party will bear their own costs of this proceeding. "The Honourable Madam Justice Fenlon"
Case-aware research
Ask AI about this case
The judgment and available research above are public. New questions open in a separate private conversation grounded in this case.