Mladjo v. Etheridge
- Citation
- 2020 BCSC 2276
- Status
- Judgment
- Jurisdiction
- Canada
- Court
- Supreme Court of British Columbia
- Decision
- 21 January 2020
- Posture
- Tort Personal Injury; Application Under Insurance (vehicle) Act S.83 / Application (in Chambers) Adjourned for Further Evidence
- Language
- English
More details
- Court
- Supreme Court of British Columbia
- Decision
- 21 January 2020
- Posture
- Tort Personal Injury; Application Under Insurance (vehicle) Act S.83 / Application (in Chambers) Adjourned for Further Evidence
- Language
- English
On this page
Professional case brief
Research organized from the available case record
01
Holding and result
The contested items (gym pass, neck pillow, back support, TENS machine and electrodes) are properly characterized as rehabilitative within s.88(2) of the Regulation and therefore fall within the scope of s.83 deductions; however, the application is adjourned for ICBC to provide evidence whether it will pay the actual cost of future care as costs are incurred without applying the prescribed discount rate, because deducting benefits limited to the discounted lump sum could undercompensate the plaintiff.
Court disposition
Application granted in part on characterization point; adjourned for further evidence on ICBC's payment commitment and on occupational therapist cost issue
Orders
- Find that the gym pass, neck pillow, back support, TENS machine and electrodes fall within s.88(2) of the Insurance (Vehicle) Regulation and are subject to deduction under s.83 of the Insurance (Vehicle) Act
- Adjourn the application with leave for the defendant/ICBC to submit further evidence as to whether it will pay the actual cost of the plaintiff's future care as costs are incurred without applying the prescribed discount rate
- If ICBC provides evidence of such a commitment, the court will permit the requested deduction; if not, the parties may appear for further argument
- Adjourn the issue concerning the cost of the occupational therapist; either party has leave to bring that issue back before the court if unresolved
02
Material facts
Parties
Elissa Peterson Mladjo
Plaintiff Counsel: S. BeachCurtis Etheridge
Defendant Counsel: V. RasidagicAmounts and remedies
- Amount Sought to Be Deducted by Defendant: CAD 51,188.93
- Prescribed Discount Rate: % 2
03
Procedural history
Posture
Tort Personal Injury; Application Under Insurance (vehicle) Act S.83 / Application (in Chambers) Adjourned for Further Evidence
04
Questions and positions
Legal issues
- 01
Whether the contested items (gym pass, neck pillow, back support, TENS machine and electrodes) are payments for rehabilitation under s.88(2) of the Insurance (Vehicle) Regulation and therefore deductible under s.83 of the Insurance (Vehicle) Act
- 02
Whether applying the prescribed discount rate to the lump sum future care award means that allowing the full deduction sought by the defendant would undercompensate the plaintiff
- 03
Whether ICBC will commit to paying the actual cost of future care as incurred without applying the prescribed discount rate and the effect of such commitment on the deduction
- 04
Whether the cost of the occupational therapist should be adjusted or resolved on further evidence
Party arguments
- Applicant
- The defendant (ICBC) seeks to deduct $51,188.93 from the plaintiff's future care award under s.83 on the basis that those amounts were paid or will be paid under Part 7 (including s.88(2)) of the Regulation as rehabilitation. ICBC says it will pay benefits as costs are incurred but only up to the discounted amounts in the judgment.
- Respondent
- The plaintiff contends that certain items (gym pass, neck pillow, back support, TENS machine and electrodes) are maintenance rather than rehabilitation and thus not deductible under s.88(2). The plaintiff also argues that the judgment applied the prescribed discount rate to the lump sum future care award and that deducting benefits equal to the undiscounted costs would leave her undercompensated unless ICBC agrees to pay actual costs as incurred without applying the discount. The plaintiff seeks resolution on the occupational therapist's cost on further evidence.
05
Court’s reasoning
Legal principles
- 01
Insurance (Vehicle) Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 231, s.83
A person who has received, is entitled to receive, or will receive benefits from ICBC is deemed to release the claim for damages to the extent of those benefits; plaintiff entitled only to the balance after deductions
- 02
Insurance (Vehicle) Regulation, B.C. Reg. 447/83, s.88(2); Insurance (Vehicle) Act definition of rehabilitation
ICBC has discretion to pay for treatments likely to promote rehabilitation; rehabilitation defined as restoration to highest level of gainful employment or self-sufficiency achievable with assistance
- 03
Law and Equity Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 253, s.56
Prescribed discount rates must be used to calculate present value of future losses; the discount rate represents investment return less general price inflation
- 04
Townsend v. Kroppmanns & Currie, 2002 BCCA 365 at para. 33
Future care awards are capitalized lump sums reduced to present value because the lump sum can earn interest; expert evidence used to convert future costs to a present lump sum
06
Ratio, limits and disposition
Ratio decidendi
The contested items (gym pass, neck pillow, back support, TENS machine and electrodes) are properly characterized as rehabilitative within s.88(2) of the Regulation and therefore fall within the scope of s.83 deductions; however, the application is adjourned for ICBC to provide evidence whether it will pay the actual cost of future care as costs are incurred without applying the prescribed discount rate, because deducting benefits limited to the discounted lump sum could undercompensate the plaintiff.
Obiter and limits
- All care recommendations in the occupational therapist's report were properly characterized as rehabilitative and thus formed part of the cost of future care award
- It is possible ICBC was unaware that the court's future care award had been discounted and that actual future costs will exceed the discounted lump sum
- If ICBC commits to paying actual costs as incurred without discounting, the plaintiff would have no basis to challenge deductions
Court disposition
Application granted in part on characterization point; adjourned for further evidence on ICBC's payment commitment and on occupational therapist cost issue
- Find that the gym pass, neck pillow, back support, TENS machine and electrodes fall within s.88(2) of the Insurance (Vehicle) Regulation and are subject to deduction under s.83 of the Insurance (Vehicle) Act
- Adjourn the application with leave for the defendant/ICBC to submit further evidence as to whether it will pay the actual cost of the plaintiff's future care as costs are incurred without applying the prescribed discount rate
- If ICBC provides evidence of such a commitment, the court will permit the requested deduction; if not, the parties may appear for further argument
- Adjourn the issue concerning the cost of the occupational therapist; either party has leave to bring that issue back before the court if unresolved
Source and reliance status
Supreme Court of British Columbia · 21 January 2020
This page organises the available record for research. Confirm quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the official source before relying on the case.
Judgment reading view
Judgment text
The complete available source text.
Supreme Court of British Columbia
Judgment· 21 January 2020
2020 BCSC 2276 Mladjo v. Etheridge
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF BRITISH COLUMBIA Citation: Mladjo v. Etheridge, 2020 BCSC 2276 Date: 20200121 Docket: M179597 Registry: Vancouver Between: Elissa Peterson Mladjo Plaintiff And Curtis Etheridge Defendant Before: The Honourable Madam Justice Francis Oral Reasons for Judgment In Chambers Counsel for the Plaintiff: S. Beach Counsel for the Defendant: V. Rasidagic Place and Date of Hearing: Vancouver, B.C. January 21, 2020 Place and Date of Judgment: Vancouver, B.C. January 21, 2020 [1] THE COURT: The defendant has brought an application under s. 83 of the Insurance (Vehicle Act), R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 231 [Act], to deduct $51,188.93 from the award for costs of future care made in my order of June 13, 2019. Reasons for judgment with respect to that decision are indexed at 2019 BCSC 950. [2] Section 83 of the Act provides that a person who has received, is entitled to receive, or will receive benefits from ICBC is deemed to release the claim for damages to the extent of those benefits, and the plaintiff is entitled only to the balance after deductions. The defendants seeks a reduction in the cost of care award on the basis that certain benefits have been or will be paid for under Part 7 of the Insurance (Vehicle) Regulation, B.C. Reg. 447/83 [Regulation]. Are the payments sought to be deducted in the nature of rehabilitation? [3] Section 88(2) of the Regulation gives ICBC
discretion to pay for a treatment that is likely to promote the rehabilitation of an insured. Rehabilitation is defined in the Act as "the restoration in the shortest time practicable, of an injured person to the highest level of gainful employment or self-sufficiency that, allowing for the permanent effects of the injured person's injuries, is, with medical and vocational assistance, reasonably achievable by the injured person". [4] Some of the amounts that the defendant seeks to have deducted under s. 83 comprise payments that ICBC made under s. 88(2) for the rehabilitation of the plaintiff. The plaintiff submits that certain of these payments, namely, the gym pass, the neck pillow, the back support, the TENS machine and the electrodes, are not in the nature of rehabilitation but are for maintenance of her current level of functioning and, therefore, these benefits should not be deducted from her award as they were not made under s. 88(2). [5] All the items in issue were part of a tort award I made for cost of future care, the very nature of which is an award for treatments that are reasonably necessary to restore a plaintiff to their pre-accident condition, to the extent that is possible. [6] While Ms. Mladjo has chronic pain and will likely never completely recover, all of the care recommendations in the occupational therapist's report that was relied on to support the cost
of care award are properly characterized as rehabilitative. They are aimed to contribute to the restoration of Ms. Mladjo to the highest level that, allowing for the permanent effects of her injury, is reasonably achievable by her. If they were not rehabilitative, they would not have formed part of the cost of care award. [7] Therefore, I find that the gym pass, the neck pillow, the back support, the TENS machine and the electrodes fall within the scope of s. 88(2) of the Regulation insofar as they are likely to promote rehabilitation. Therefore, it is appropriate for the defendant to deduct the cost of these items from the cost of care award. Discount Rate [8] Counsel for the plaintiff argues that, because I applied the discount rate prescribed under the Law and Equity Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 253 to the cost of future care award, the plaintiff would be undercompensated if the defendant were allowed the full deduction sought. [9] ICBC has provided an affidavit that says that it will pay for the s. 88(1) and 88(2) benefits as the costs are incurred, but only up to the amounts in my judgment. The amounts in my judgment were discounted to account for the present value of the future loss, so they did not reflect the actual cost of future care that will be incurred by the plaintiff. The plaintiff says that if I order the deduction of benefits sought by the defendant she will not
receive the full amount of the future care ordered in my judgment. [10] The cost of future care order was based on information contained in the report of the occupational therapist, Ms. Shivji. Ms. Shivji's report provided evidence of the cost of specific treatments. Counsel provided me with tables at the hearing of the trial that applied the prescribed discount rate to Ms. Shivji's estimation of the cost of these treatments. [11] Section 56 of the Law and Equity Act provides that certain discount rates must be used in calculating the present value of future loss and it authorizes the Chief Justice of this Court to prescribe the discount rates. The discount rate is presently prescribed at 2%, which s. 56 deems to be the difference between the investment rate of return and the rate of general price inflation. [12] The rationale for the discounting of future care awards was summarized by Chief Justice Finch in Townsend v. Kroppmanns & Currie, 2002 BCCA 365 at para. 33: The award for cost of future care is usually based on evidence as to various anticipated costs of providing adequate care for the injured plaintiff over the course of her lifetime. The costs will not be incurred until dates or times in the future, but the law allows a one-time lump sum award to be made at the conclusion of the trial. That lump sum amount is determined by "capitalizing" the future costs. Because the
lump sum can earn interest for the plaintiff, the law recognizes that the present amount required to provide for future care will be less than the sum of all future care costs. Expert opinion evidence has therefore been admitted to reduce those future costs to a present lump sum amount. [13] In this case, ICBC has provided evidence that carefully limits the Corporation's commitment to pay future benefits to the amounts set out in my judgment. After the mandatory discount, the amount in my judgment was less than the anticipated future cost of the plaintiff's care. If I grant the defendant the relief it seeks, the plaintiff will be undercompensated because she will not have the benefit of earning interest on the lump sum award and she will not have access to all of the future care that I have determined she will need. [14] It is quite possible that the ICBC affiant was not aware that the cost of future care awarded in my judgment was subject to the prescribed discount rate and that the cost of care of the plaintiff would be higher over time than the discounted lump sum award she was ordered to receive. It may be the case that ICBC is prepared to pay for the plaintiff's future care for the therapies in issue, without the discount rate being applied. [15] I will therefore adjourn the application with leave for the defendant to submit further evidence. If ICBC provides evidence that
it will pay the actual cost of future care of the plaintiff as the costs are incurred without subjecting those costs to a reduction based on the discount rate, I do not foresee any basis on which the plaintiff could challenge such an application. [16] If ICBC is not prepared to make such a commitment, then the parties may appear before me for further argument. [17] A third issue was raised by the plaintiff with respect to the cost of the occupational therapist. As this issue may be resolved upon further evidence being provided by ICBC, I will adjourn it. Either party has leave to bring this issue back before me should the parties be unable to reach a resolution. "Francis, J."
Case-aware research
Ask AI about this case
The judgment and available research above are public. New questions open in a separate private conversation grounded in this case.