Canada Judgment

Supreme Court of British Columbia

Moyles v. McCann

On this page

Professional case brief

Research organized from the available case record

Source document

01

Holding and result

The Minutes of Settlement were substantively fair as entered because the agreed transfer of a portion of the defendant's pension constituted valuable consideration and there was no evidentiary basis to impose any trust over the pension; however the waiver of CPP equalization was set aside as unfair because the plaintiff lacked knowledge of its value, so paragraph 7 was amended to permit CPP equalization claims.

Court disposition

Minutes of Settlement confirmed except varied to permit CPP equalization

Orders

  • Paragraph 7 of the Minutes of Settlement is amended to read: "The parties' unadjusted pensionable earnings under the Canada Pension Plan will be equalized under s.55.1 and 55.2 of the Canada Pension Plan Act (Canada) and either party may apply for an equalization of the parties unadjusted pensionable earnings."
  • Otherwise the Minutes of Settlement are confirmed

02

Material facts

Parties

Judith Helen Moyles

Plaintiff Counsel: R.L. Taylor

Larry Douglas McCann

Defendant Counsel: J.S. Harvey

Amounts and remedies

  • Railway Share Plan Value: CAD 4,000
  • Defendant Monthly Pension: CAD 2,414
  • Plaintiff 2003 Employment Income: CAD 32,600
  • Plaintiff 2004 Income to Quitting Date: CAD 10,660
  • Estimated Plaintiff Monthly Pension Share (rutherford Calculation): CAD 859.51
  • Estimated CPP Equalization Waiver Value Range: CAD 12,000

03

Procedural history

  1. Posture

    Family Law Property Division and Spousal Maintenance / Reasons for Judgment / Final

04

Questions and positions

Legal issues

Party arguments

Applicant
Plaintiff submitted the pension division could not be a reasonable substitute for spousal support because she likely would have been entitled to pension division anyway and still to spousal support; she alleged entitlement to CPP equalization and said she was in financial crisis after signing.
Respondent
Defendant submitted the Minutes were fair and should be confirmed, that transferring a portion of his pension constituted consideration for the concessions by plaintiff, and that no trust attached to the pension; he sought a stay and confirmation.

05

Court’s reasoning

  1. 01

    Family Relations Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c.128, s.65

    Fairness of separation agreements assessed as of the time of execution under s.65 of the Family Relations Act

  2. 02

    Family Relations Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c.128, s.120.1

    Court may review agreements under s.120.1(1) for fairness having regard to Parts 5 and 6 and may vary property division if unfair

  3. 03

    Pettkus v. Becker, [1980] 2 S.C.R. 834 and Peter v. Beblow, 1 S.C.R. 980 (1993)

    Elements required to impose a proprietary remedial trust: contribution, enrichment, and absence of juristic reason for retention

  4. 04

    Family Relations Act jurisprudence / Rutherford formula referenced in case law

    Rutherford formula used to calculate pension share attributable to joint accrual period for property division

  5. 05

    Canada Pension Plan Act, ss.55.1-55.2

    Equalization of unadjusted pensionable earnings available to common law spouses under ss.55.1 and 55.2 of the Canada Pension Plan Act

06

Ratio, limits and disposition

Ratio decidendi

The Minutes of Settlement were substantively fair as entered because the agreed transfer of a portion of the defendant's pension constituted valuable consideration and there was no evidentiary basis to impose any trust over the pension; however the waiver of CPP equalization was set aside as unfair because the plaintiff lacked knowledge of its value, so paragraph 7 was amended to permit CPP equalization claims.

Obiter and limits

  • Designation of a common law partner as a beneficiary or survivor on pension documents does not by itself create an express or resulting trust
  • Where parties intended to share assets they held them jointly; separation of finances weighs against an inferred expectation to share pension
  • Court cannot selectively rewrite parts of an agreement under s.120 to uphold some provisions and defeat others without a fairness basis

Court disposition

Minutes of Settlement confirmed except varied to permit CPP equalization

  • Paragraph 7 of the Minutes of Settlement is amended to read: "The parties' unadjusted pensionable earnings under the Canada Pension Plan will be equalized under s.55.1 and 55.2 of the Canada Pension Plan Act (Canada) and either party may apply for an equalization of the parties unadjusted pensionable earnings."
  • Otherwise the Minutes of Settlement are confirmed

Source and reliance status

Supreme Court of British Columbia · 29 May 2007

This page organises the available record for research. Confirm quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the official source before relying on the case.

Judgment reading view

Judgment text

The complete available source text.

Source document

Supreme Court of British Columbia

Judgment· 29 May 2007

2007 BCSC 744

2007 BCSC 744err1 Moyles v. McCann

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF BRITISH COLUMBIA Citation: Moyles v. McCann, 2007 BCSC 744 Date: 20070529 Docket: E019843 Registry: New Westminster Between: Judith Helen Moyles Plaintiff And Larry Douglas McCann Defendant Before: The Honourable Madam Justice Koenigsberg Reasons for Judgment Counsel for the Plaintiff: R.L. Taylor Counsel for the Defendant: J.S. Harvey Date and Place of Hearing: February 1 & May 17, 2007 Vancouver, B.C. [1] This matter is concerned with cross applications arising from Minutes of Settlement executed by the parties on February 4, 2005 in an action. Reasons for Judgment were rendered on October 20, 2005. [2] The parties' action is a family dispute wherein a division of property and spousal maintenance are the issues. The defendant seeks an order that the action be stayed and an order confirming the Minutes of Settlement. The plaintiff seeks an order that the Minutes of Settlement be set aside and an order for interim spousal support. [3] Attached to these reasons is that Judgment wherein is set out a fuller factual background. For clarity as to the issue now before the Court, I set out the legal analysis and result in the earlier judgment: But for the plaintiff's motion seeking to set aside the Settlement Agreement, the Minutes of Settlement would be confirmed. Although initially suggested, there is absolutely no basis to set aside these Minutes except to

the extent that on all the facts they may be "unfair". The circumstances surrounding the making of the Agreement leading to the Minutes being drafted, and the circumstances surrounding the execution of the Minutes were all circumstances brought about at the insistence of the plaintiff. Having received part performance of the Minutes, she then said the Minutes did not accord with the agreement reached by the parties. If that were the basis upon which this Court should set aside the Minutes, I would not do so. However, a decision of the Court in Schlenker v. Schlenker (1999), 72 B.C.L.R. (3d) 203 (S.C.), sets out a thorough review of the relevant law applicable to the facts of this case. These parties never married but were common law spouses for 24 years. Their Agreement falls under s. 120.1(1) of the Family Relations Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c.

128. Thus, for the reasons set out in Schlenker, the Minutes are subject to a review for prima facie fairness considering Parts 5 and 6 of the Family Relations Act. Although, this matter did not come before the Court as a consent order, the effect of confirming the Minutes as requested by the defendant raises the same issue and the same principles apply. In this case, there is insufficient evidence for the Court to carry out any such review. While the plaintiff has given up any right she may have had to the plaintiff's CP Rail Share Purchase Plan and equalization of CPP and to spousal support for an extended period, she received numerous other benefits. The Court cannot evaluate the fairness without knowing the value of what was given up. In the circumstances, each of the parties' applications is dismissed. Each is at liberty to bring the matter forward on proper material to obtain the remedy each seeks. [4] The matter came back before the Court and central to the issue now is whether the compromise reached in the Minutes of Settlement was a "fair" compromise. Central to that determination is the value of the defendant's employment pension, and whether agreeing to split it was "valuable" consideration, and the value of the defendant's CPP. The Railway Share Plan's value is just over $4,000. The plaintiff would have no claim to it. [5] The plaintiff's argument is clear cut. She

submits that the division of the defendant's pension cannot be seen as a reasonable substitute for a claim to spousal support because the plaintiff likely would have been entitled to a division of his pension in any event and she would still be entitled to spousal support. In addition, she should have received a right to equalization of the parties' CPP's. [6] In addition, the plaintiff says she has been in a financial crisis since shortly after signing the Minutes of Settlement and has been unable to work. [7] It is conceded by both parties that the test of fairness of an agreement under s. 65 is to consider fairness in relation to circumstances at the time of the execution of the agreement and what was reasonably in the contemplation of the parties at the time they entered into it. [8] At the time of the Agreement, the plaintiff had briefly stopped working owing to stress resulting from the break-up of the relationship. There was no suggestion at the time that her departure from the workforce was either permanent or indeed, long term. The evidence before the Court was that the plaintiff expected to be vacationing at the end of February 2005; just weeks after the Minutes were signed, and would be returning to work thereafter. It is against this backdrop that the brevity of spousal support must be considered. There also was evidence before the Court that the plaintiff's

historical income was not insignificant. Reference was specifically made to her 2003 assessment and attached T4 indicating employment income of $32,600. 2004 was the year in which the separation occurred and in April the plaintiff quit the job at which she was working. Her 2004 income, to the date of quitting, was $10,660 as evidenced by the statement of remuneration paid. Extrapolated over the course of the year, this would equate to over $30,000 annually. The evidence was that she worked at these positions part-time so as to allow time to work the berry crop, on the parties jointly owned farm. Thus, the parties' income was not so disparate as to warrant either long term or substantial maintenance. It was a definite time period provided for which both of the parties envisioned at the time of entering into the Minutes of Settlement would tide the plaintiff over until her return to full-time employment. For this she received other benefits which already have been referenced in the earlier Reasons for Judgment. [9] The Court, at the conclusion of the last hearing, requested further information and submissions regarding the pension entitlement of the defendant and the plaintiff's entitlement to it under the provisions of the Minutes of Settlement. These are accurately referenced in the plaintiff's submissions: The pension information provided by the Defendant is as follows: Joint

Accrual Commencement Date: January 1, 1981 (But Parties commenced cohabitation in the summer of 1980). Joint Accrual End Date: April 1, 2004 Pensionable Service between these dates: 277 months Total Pensionable Service to end date: 389 months Amount of Defendant's Monthly Pension: $2,414.00 Rutherford Formula contemplated in Part VI of the Family Relations Act: 277/389 = 71.21% x 2414.00 x ½ = $859.51 (or a 35% interest to the Plaintiff) The Plaintiff cannot access the monthly pension until age 55. [10] It is also important to this analysis to recall that despite it being a long relationship, the parties very clearly kept their finances separate. They never mingled bank accounts save and except for the account to pay the household expenses. They agreed to equal ownership of the home and an investment account. Otherwise they owned nothing jointly. The plaintiff had separate savings by way of an RRSP which she kept. They had separate debt for which the other was not responsible. [11] The relationship did not result in children. The relationship did not result in any interference with the capacity of Ms. Moyle to earn income. Although it is acknowledged she did some work on the farm which resulted in income which on all of the evidence she kept. No evidence exists that her work on the farm interfered with her capacity to obtain employment or that she assisted in any way with Mr. McCann's employment as a rail worker. [12] The governing law between non-married parties for an entitlement to an asset owned solely by one of them is still premised on the concept of trust as noted in Pettkus v. Becker, [1980] 2 S.C.R. 834 and Peter v. Beblow (1993), 1 S.C.R.

980. For the plaintiff to succeed she must show the necessary elements of: (a) contribution; (b) enrichment; (c) no juristic reasons that the owning party should retain the benefit. [13] The plaintiff is able to point to no factual considerations in the evidence to allow the Court to find either contribution to the acquisition of the asset in question or an enrichment of the defendant. The pension entitlement was funded by payroll deduction. The parties kept their finances separate such that there was no detriment to the plaintiff as a result of his reduced take home pay. [14] It is not incumbent upon the defendant to demonstrate that the plaintiff's claim for an interest in his pension must fail. Only that the transfer of it, in the fashion described in the Minutes of Settlement, constituted consideration, in part, for the remainder of the concessions made by the plaintiff in the final resolution of this matter. [15] The plaintiff submits that the facts here support an executed or express trust, a resulting trust or a constructive trust. There is no basis on which the pension could be claimed on either an express or resulting trust. No evidentiary foundation found in the materials before the Court exists as to an agreement to share in the pension in the event of their separation. The defendant did name her in his pension documents as a beneficiary as a survivor should the

defendant die during the relationship. This naming, however, does not constitute a clear declaration necessary to found a trust. It is no different than if the defendant named her in his will as a beneficiary. That would not create a trust during the lifetime of the testator. [16] Nor is there any demonstrated intention that the pension interest would accrue to the plaintiff by way of the doctrine of resulting trust. To the contrary, there is evidence before the Court that the parties discussed her removal as a beneficiary of the trust during their discussions. [17] The plaintiff relies on several decisions of various courts in which pension entitlement is found. The overwhelming majority are, however, cases in which either the parties were lengthy marriages and expectations were clearly created as to retirement pension entitlement; or in lengthy common law relationships where there is more than one specific indication of an intention or expectation that the parties would share in each others pensions (see Green v. Melynyk, [1998] B.C.J. No. 1466, para. 52; and E.K.G.D. v. L.W.P., [2006] B.C.J. No. 3002, at para. 41). [18] Thus, I can find no support in the evidence for any of the alleged trusts. Something more is required to establish any such trust than designating a common law partner as a "spouse" or survivor beneficiary on one's pension documents. In this case, there was

no other indication of a common intention. Further, what is noteworthy in this couple's financial relationship is that where they intended to share, they owned jointly. All other assets were kept separate. There was no financial dependence or contribution by either of them to the ability or non-ability of the other to obtain or keep employment. [19] On the facts of this case, there is no certainty that the plaintiff would have had any entitlement to the defendant's pension. Thus, in obtaining what she did, there is a clear benefit. [20] Section 120 of the Family Relations Act does not allow the Court to replace sections of the agreement and leave the rest. Section 120 allows the Court to review the Agreement under Parts 5 and 6 of the Family Relations Act for fairness and, if unfair, vary the division of the property referenced in the Agreement. Part 5 contains Section 65(1) and (2) which allow the Court to deal with the division of property and determine fairness under the enumerating factors in the section and, if found to be unfair, to redress the unfairness by reapportioning the division into shares fixed by the Court. It does not provide the Court with a general ability to rewrite the parties' agreement, in particular, to uphold the Agreement in property division while defeating it as to its intent concerning spousal support. [21] I find no unfairness in the waiver of

permanent or indefinite spousal support and the agreement to divide the plaintiff's employment pension. In considering this, I note the plaintiff is to receive or has received several other lump sum amounts giving her a larger share of the proceeds of the shared property. [22] The waiver, however, of any right to equalization under ss. 55.1 and 55.2 of the Canada Pension Plan is a waiver of approximately $12,000-$17,000, a value unknown to the plaintiff at the time she agreed to the waiver. Entitlement is provided for those in common law relationships under the Federal legislation. Thus, it is more than likely that if the parties litigated, the plaintiff would have obtained entitlement to equalization. [23] Thus, I vary the Minutes of Settlement to achieve fairness only to the extent that paragraph numbered 7 in the Minutes will be amended to read that "The parties' unadjusted pensionable earnings under the Canada Pension Plan will be equalized under s. 55.1 and 55.2 of the Canada Pension Plan Act (Canada) and either party may apply for an equalization of the parties unadjusted pensionable earnings." [24] Otherwise, the Minutes of Settlement are confirmed. ________ The Honourable Madam Justice Koenigsberg June 13, 2007 - Revised Judgment Corrigendum to the Reasons for Judgment issued advising that the reference to the earlier hearing date of February 1, 2007 was omitted. The date of hearing should read as follows: February 1 & May 17, 2007

Source wording is retained. Consult the source document for its original formatting and pagination.

Authorities

Authorities used by the court

Cases, legislation, regulations, and constitutional provisions identified in the available record.

Pettkus v. Becker, [1980] 2 S.C.R. 834

Case cited

Peter v. Beblow, 1 S.C.R. 980 (1993)

Case cited

Schlenker v. Schlenker (1999), 72 B.C.L.R. (3d) 203 (S.C.)

Case cited

Green v. Melynyk, [1998] B.C.J. No. 1466

Case cited

E.K.G.D. v. L.W.P., [2006] B.C.J. No. 3002

Case cited

Family Relations Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c.128, s.65

Legislation

Legislation referenced in the available case record.

Family Relations Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c.128, s.120.1

Legislation

Legislation referenced in the available case record.

Canada Pension Plan Act, ss.55.1-55.2

Legislation

Legislation referenced in the available case record.

Case-aware research

Ask AI about this case

The judgment and available research above are public. New questions open in a separate private conversation grounded in this case.

About this LexChat collection

This page organizes the available case record for research. Verify quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the source document. Corrections can be reported to hello@esheria.ai.

Legal information, not legal advice. Research summaries do not replace the judgment.