Botha v Botha (393/04) [2006] ZASCA 6; 2006 (4) SA 144 (SCA) ; [2006] 2 All SA 221 (SCA) (9 March 2006)
- Citation
- [2006] ZASCA 6
- Status
- Judgment
- Jurisdiction
- South Africa
- Court
- Supreme Court of Appeal
- Panel
- Harms, Brand, Conradie, Lewis, Van Heerden
- Case number
- 393/04
More details
- Court
- Supreme Court of Appeal
- Panel
- Harms, Brand, Conradie, Lewis, Van Heerden
- Case number
- 393/04
On this page
Professional case brief
Research organized from the available case record
01
Holding and result
The Supreme Court of Appeal held that the trial court misdirected itself by considering factors outside those prescribed in section 9(1) of the Divorce Act when granting the forfeiture order. Specifically, the trial judge relied on the motivation behind the taking out of the insurance policies, which is not a statutory factor. The only permissible considerations are the duration of the marriage, the circumstances leading to its breakdown, and any substantial misconduct. Since neither the duration nor the circumstances justified forfeiture, and no substantial misconduct was present, the appeal succeeded. The forfeiture order was set aside, and the appellant was awarded her full share of the accrual, including the insurance policy proceeds.
Court disposition
Appeal upheld with costs; forfeiture order set aside; appellant awarded full share of accrual including insurance proceeds.
Orders
- The appeal is upheld with costs, including costs of the application for leave to appeal.
- Paragraphs (a) and (b) of the Port Elizabeth High Court order dated 10 June 2004 are set aside and substituted as follows: (a) The respondent's counterclaim is dismissed. (b) The respondent is ordered to pay the appellant an amount of R500,120, in addition to R497,300 payable under the previous order, together representing the appellant's share of the accrual of the parties' respective estates.
02
Material facts
Parties
Heidi Botha
AppellantGabriël Johannes Botha
RespondentAmounts and remedies
- Insurance Policy Proceeds (sanlam): ZAR 500,120
- Accrual Share (previous Order): ZAR 497,300
03
Procedural history
Posture
Civil Appeal / Appeal From Port Elizabeth High Court
04
Questions and positions
Legal issues
- 01
Whether the trial court correctly made a partial forfeiture order against the appellant in terms of section 9 of the Divorce Act 70 of 1979.
- 02
Whether the proceeds of two insurance policies taken out by the respondent on his father's life should be subject to forfeiture.
- 03
Whether the trial court confined itself to the statutory factors in section 9(1) when making the forfeiture order.
Party arguments
- Applicant
- The appellant argued that the trial court erred in granting a partial forfeiture order, as it failed to confine itself to the factors listed in section 9(1) of the Divorce Act. The appellant contended that the proceeds of the insurance policies should form part of the accrual of the respondent's estate and that she was entitled to her share thereof. She maintained that neither the duration of the marriage nor the circumstances leading to its breakdown justified forfeiture, and that no substantial misconduct was present.
- Respondent
- The respondent maintained that the proceeds of the insurance policies were intended to benefit him alone, not the marital unit, and that the appellant should forfeit her share of these proceeds. He argued that the strained relationship between the appellant and his family, particularly his mother, contributed to the breakdown of the marriage and justified the forfeiture order. The respondent asserted that allowing the appellant to share in the insurance proceeds would unduly benefit her in relation to him.
05
Court’s reasoning
Legal principles
- 01
Divorce Act 70 of 1979, s 9(1)
A forfeiture order under section 9(1) of the Divorce Act requires the court to consider only the duration of the marriage, the circumstances leading to its breakdown, and any substantial misconduct, not any other factors.
- 02
Wijker v Wijker 1993 (4) SA 720 (A) at 729E-F
Proof of substantial misconduct is not an essential requirement for a forfeiture order; the three statutory factors are not cumulative and must be considered individually.
- 03
Wijker v Wijker 1993 (4) SA 720 (A) at 727E-F
The trial court must first determine if the party against whom forfeiture is sought will be benefited, and then, having regard to the statutory factors, decide if the benefit would be undue.
- 04
Divorce Act 70 of 1979, s 9(1); Wijker v Wijker
The court may not have regard to any factors other than those listed in section 9(1) when determining undue benefit.
06
Ratio, limits and disposition
Ratio decidendi
The Supreme Court of Appeal held that the trial court misdirected itself by considering factors outside those prescribed in section 9(1) of the Divorce Act when granting the forfeiture order. Specifically, the trial judge relied on the motivation behind the taking out of the insurance policies, which is not a statutory factor. The only permissible considerations are the duration of the marriage, the circumstances leading to its breakdown, and any substantial misconduct. Since neither the duration nor the circumstances justified forfeiture, and no substantial misconduct was present, the appeal succeeded. The forfeiture order was set aside, and the appellant was awarded her full share of the accrual, including the insurance policy proceeds.
Obiter and limits
- The absence of a catch-all provision in section 9(1) means courts are strictly limited to the listed factors when considering forfeiture.
- The strained relationship between the appellant and her mother-in-law was a circumstance in the breakdown of the marriage but did not justify forfeiture under the statutory test.
- The equitable principle of fairness applied by the trial court is not justified under the accrual system or section 9(1) of the Divorce Act.
Court disposition
Appeal upheld with costs; forfeiture order set aside; appellant awarded full share of accrual including insurance proceeds.
- The appeal is upheld with costs, including costs of the application for leave to appeal.
- Paragraphs (a) and (b) of the Port Elizabeth High Court order dated 10 June 2004 are set aside and substituted as follows: (a) The respondent's counterclaim is dismissed. (b) The respondent is ordered to pay the appellant an amount of R500,120, in addition to R497,300 payable under the previous order, together representing the appellant's share of the accrual of the parties' respective estates.
Source and reliance status
Supreme Court of Appeal
This page organises the available record for research. Confirm quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the official source before relying on the case.
Judgment reading view
Judgment text
The complete available source text.
Supreme Court of Appeal
Judgment
THE
SUPREME COURT OF APPEAL
OF
SOUTH AFRICA
Reportable
CASE NO: 393/04
In the matter between:
heidi botha Appellant
and
gabriël johannes botha Respondent
Coram: Harms, Brand, Conradie, Lewis et Van Heerden JJA Heard: 17 February 2006 Delivered: 09 March 2006
Summary: Divorce â forfeiture of patrimonial benefits of the marriage â proceeds of two insurance policies taken out by the defendant (husband) on the life of his father â application of three factors referred to in s 9 of the Divorce Act 70 of 1979 Neutral citation: This judgment may be referred to as Botha v Botha [2006] SCA 7 (RSA)
JUDGMENT
VAN HEERDEN JA: The only issue in this appeal is whether or not the trial court was correct in making a partial forfeiture order against the appellant in terms of s 9 of the Divorce Act 70 of 1979.
The parties were married to each other on 24 April 1993, the proprietary consequences of their marriage being regulated by an antenuptial contract in terms of which community of property and community of profit and loss were excluded and the marriage was made subject to the accrual system specified in Chapter 1 of the Matrimonial Property Act 88 of 1984.
In July 2003, the appellant (âplaintiffâ) instituted action against the respondent (âdefendantâ) in the Port Elizabeth High Court, claiming a decree of divorce and ancillary relief. In his counterclaim, the defendant claimed partial forfeiture by the plaintiff of the patrimonial benefits of the marriage. On the evidence led at the trial, it was accepted on behalf of both parties that the plaintiff was entitled to payment of R497 300 from the defendant as being half of what was, at least, the difference between the accruals of their respective estates. This payment by the defendant to the plaintiff formed part of the order made by the trial court immediately after the conclusion of the trial. The sole remaining question (which was reserved for judgment at a later stage) was whether the plaintiff was entitled to any further amount in this regard, this issue revolving around the proceeds of two insurance policies that the defendant had taken out on the life of his father who died on 24 July 2001. The respective insurers had paid out an amount of R500 120 to the defendant in respect of each policy.
As regards this remaining question, Jennett J ultimately issued an order directing that the plaintiff forfeit one-half of the proceeds of the first policy (the Sanlam policy) and the full proceeds of the second policy (the Fedsure policy). In consequence of this order, he directed the defendant to pay to the plaintiff a further amount of R125 030 as the balance of her share of the accrual of their respective estates. The defendant was also ordered to pay the plaintiffâs taxed party and party costs. The appeal, which comes before us with leave of the High Court, is directed at these orders.
The counterclaim for forfeiture is governed by the provisions of s 9(1) of the Divorce Act 70 of 1979, which reads as follows:
âWhen a decree of divorce is granted on the ground of the irretrievable break-down of a marriage the Court may make an order that the patrimonial benefits of the marriage be forfeited by one party in favour of the other, either wholly or in part, if the Court, having regard to the duration of the marriage, the circumstances which gave rise to the break-down thereof and any substantial misconduct on the part of either of the parties, is satisfied that, if the order for forfeiture is not made, the one party will in relation to the other be unduly benefited.â
In Wijker v Wijker,1 this court considered the question whether proof of âsubstantial misconduct on the part of either of the partiesâ was an essential requirement for a forfeiture order. It answered this question in the negative, holding2 that the context and the subject-matter of s 9(1) made it abundantly clear that the legislature never intended the three factors mentioned in the section to be considered cumulatively. As regards the approach to be followed by a court of appeal when hearing an appeal in respect of a forfeiture order, Van Coller AJA stated the following:3
âIt is obvious from the wording of the section that the first step is to determine whether or not the party against whom the order is sought will in fact be benefited. That will be purely a factual issue. Once that has been established the trial Court must determine, having regard to the factors mentioned in the section, whether or not that party will in relation to the other be unduly benefited if a forfeiture order is not made. Although the second determination is a value judgment,4 it is made by the trial Court after having
considered the facts falling within the compass of the three factors mentioned in the section.â
(Emphasis added.)
In relation to the trial courtâs finding in the Wijker case that it would be unfair to permit the appellant husband to share in the respondent wifeâs estate agency business while he had made hardly any contribution towards its management, administration and profit-making, Van Coller AJA held5 that --
âThe finding that the appellant would be unduly benefited if a forfeiture order was not made, was therefore based on a principle of fairness. It seems to me that the learned trial Judge, in adopting this approach, lost sight of what a marriage in community of property really entails. . . . The fact that the appellant is entitled to share in the successful business established by the respondent is a consequence of their marriage in community of property. In making a value judgment this equitable principle applied by the Court a quo is not justified. Not only is it contrary to the basic concept of community of property, but there is no provision in the section for the application of such a principle. . . . . The benefit that will be received cannot be viewed in isolation, but in order to determine whether a party will be unduly benefited the Court must have regard to the factors mentioned in the section. In my judgment the approach adopted by the Court a quo in concluding that the appellant would be unduly benefited should a forfeiture order not be granted was clearly wrong.â (Emphasis added.) The three factors governing the value judgment to be made by the trial court in term of s 9(1) thus fall within a relatively narrow ambit: they are limited to (a) the duration of the marriage; (b) the circumstances which gave rise to the breakdown thereof; and (c) any substantial
misconduct on the part of either of the parties. Conspicuously absent from s 9 is a catch-all phrase, permitting the court, in addition to the factors listed, to have regard to âany other factorâ. (Compare in this regard the wording of s 7(2) of the Divorce Act dealing with maintenance orders upon divorce which, apart from the fact that the list of relevant factors is significantly longer, also entitles the court to have regard to âany other factor which in the opinion of the court should be taken into accountâ. So too, in terms of s 7(5), the list of factors which must be taken into account by a court in the determination of which assets should be transferred by
one spouse to the other upon divorce, when the circumstances set out in ss 7(3) and (4) justify the making of such a âredistribution orderâ, also expressly includes âany other factor which should in the opinion of the court be taken into account.â) The trial court may therefore not have regard to any factors other than those listed in s 9(1) in determining whether or not the spouse against whom the forfeiture order is claimed will, in relation to the other spouse, be unduly benefited if such an order is not made. The circumstances under which the two insurance policies were taken out by the defendant were canvassed in some detail during the trial and in the judgment of the High Court. The defendantâs father (âMr Bothaâ) owned two farms in the Tarkastad area. He had two sons, the defendant and his elder brother, Matthias Gysbert Botha (âGys Bothaâ), and two daughters. He intended to bequeath one of his farms to each of his sons, with the elder son having the choice of which farm he wanted. However, as the defendant had no intention of farming, it was envisaged that Gys Botha, who was also farming in the Tarkastad area, might buy the defendant out if and when the sons inherited their fatherâs farms. It was apparently suggested that Gys Botha might take out an insurance policy on his fatherâs life in order to provide him with the finances necessary to fund
such a buy-out, but he was not willing to do so. Mr Botha then suggested that an insurance policy be taken out on his life with the proceeds thereof to be used to âcompensateâ the defendant for the loss of the farm which Mr Botha now intended to bequeath to Gys Botha. After discussing various options in this regard, it was decided that the defendant would take out the policy on his fatherâs life and, in April 1997, the Sanlam policy (for R500 000) was taken out in the defendantâs name. The defendant paid all the premiums due under the policy. Because of the increasing price of land, the defendant and Mr Botha subsequently decided, in late 2000, that a second insurance policy for the same amount should be taken out by the defendant on Mr Bothaâs life. The Fedsure policy thus came into being, the defendant once again paying all the premiums due thereunder.
Mr Botha died in July 2001 as a result of injuries sustained during a motor accident. In terms of his will, Gys Botha inherited (inter alia) both Mr Bothaâs farms, while the defendant inherited only a cash amount of R300 000, as did each of his sisters. The defendant initially contended that the proceeds of the policies accrued to him as either an inheritance or a donation from his late father and that, in terms of s 5(1) of Act 88 of 1984, these proceeds had to be excluded from the accrual of the defendantâs estate. This contention was, however, abandoned at the end of the trial. Having dealt with the factual background, as summarised above, as well as the relevant statutory provisions and the judgment of this court in the Wijker case, Jennett J came to the following conclusion with regard to the factual portion of the s 9(1) enquiry:
âThere is no doubt, in my view, that, if an order for forfeiture is not made in respect of the proceeds of the insurance policies, either wholly or in part, plaintiff will indeed be benefited in that defendant will have to make some payment to her in respect thereof. Before a forfeiture order can be made, however, I have to be satisfied that plaintiff will not simply be benefited but that she will be unduly benefited in relation to defendant if a forfeiture order is not made, and this is to be determined âhaving regard to the duration of the marriage, the circumstances which gave rise to the breakdown thereof and any substantial misconduct on the part of either of the parties.ââ â
According to the trial judge, neither party had been guilty of any substantial misconduct. He also appeared to have regarded the duration of the partiesâ marriage (ten years) as a more or less âneutralâ factor, stating that â
âThe parties were in their early twenties when they married. . . . If their marriage had endured, the prospects are that they would have remained married for a long time and in relation thereto a marriage of 10 years might be regarded as having been of fairly short duration. Nevertheless a marriage of 10 years duration cannot be regarded as being of very short duration.â With regard to the circumstances which gave rise to the breakdown of the marriage, Jennett J referred to the differences in the personalities of the parties, concluding that this factor, as a circumstance giving rise to the breakdown of their marriage, was âof no relevance to the issue that I have to decide.â
A factor that was, however, held clearly to have been a circumstance giving rise to the breakdown of the marriage, was the plaintiffâs relationship with her mother-in-law. The plaintiff appeared to feel that her mother-in-law was overly possessive of her son and that she interfered unduly in their married life. According to the plaintiff, the defendantâs family members frequently visited and stayed at the partiesâ home with little notice and did not leave the parties to lead their own lives. Indeed, in early 2000, matters had reached such a stage for the plaintiff that she instituted divorce proceedings against the defendant. Although the parties reconciled shortly thereafter, one of the conditions set by the plaintiff for her withdrawing the divorce summons was an embargo on her mother-in-law â according to the defendant, also on his father and siblings â visiting the partiesâ home. This was the situation which prevailed at the time the Fedsure policy was taken out. Jennett J concluded as follows:
âUnder the above circumstances it seems to me that plaintiff would indeed be unduly benefited if a forfeiture order is not made in respect of the proceeds of the second insurance policy taken on defendantâs fatherâs life [the Fedsure policy]. I have already mentioned the motivation behind the taking out of the policy, which was to benefit defendant, and clearly not plaintiff and defendant as a unit, and to order defendant to pay plaintiff half of the proceeds of the policy taken out at the time in circumstances when plaintiff was estranged from defendantâs family would in my view result in plaintiff being unduly benefited in relation to defendant. I will therefore order that plaintiff forfeit any patrimonial benefit resulting from the payment of the proceeds of the second insurance policy to defendant.
For much the same reasons I am also of the view that, if plaintiff were to share in the full proceeds of the first insurance policy taken out on the life of defendantâs late father [the Sanlam policy], she will be unduly benefited in relation to the defendant. This insurance policy taken out during 1997 was, however, taken out at a stage when relations between plaintiff and defendantâs family had not deteriorated to the extent they subsequently did. I am mindful of the fact that in terms of their marriage contract plaintiff is entitled to share in the full accrual of defendantâs estate unless a forfeiture order is made against her, and in exercising what may be described as a value judgment I conclude that plaintiff should forfeit [such] patrimonial benefit of the marriage as would result from the payment of one half of the proceeds of the first insurance policy to defendant.â
In my view, it is quite clear that, while referring to the approach laid down by this court in the Wijker case, the trial judge misdirected himself in that he did not, in the exercise of his value judgement, confine himself to the factors mentioned in s 9(1). On the contrary, it would appear that, at the very least, one of the main reasons for his making the forfeiture order against the plaintiff was what he accepted to be âthe motivation behind the taking outâ of the policies. While the strained relationship between the plaintiff and the defendantâs family, in particular his mother, was taken into account by Jennett J as âa circumstance giving rise to the breakdown of the marriageâ, it appears from his judgment that neither this strain, nor the duration of the marriage, nor a combination of both, would have led him to make the forfeiture order in question had he not had regard to what he accepted, on the evidence, to be the reasons motivating the taking out of the policies. The trial judge thus cannot be said to have exercised his value judgement âhaving regard to the factors mentionedâ in s 9, as required by the judgment of this court in the Wijker case. It follows that the appeal must succeed.
Order
In the circumstances, the following order is made: 1. The appeal is upheld with costs, including the costs of the application for leave to appeal.
2. Paragraphs (a) and (b) of the order made by the Port Elizabeth High Court on 10 June 2004 are set aside and substituted with the following: (a) The defendantâs counterclaim is dismissed. (b) The defendant is ordered to pay to the plaintiff an amount of R500 120, in addition to the amount of R497 300 payable by the defendant to the plaintiff in terms of the order made on 14 May 2004 by the Port Elizabeth High Court, such amounts together representing the plaintiffâs share of the accrual of the partiesâ respective estates.
B J VAN
HEERDENJUDGE OF APPEAL CONCUR: Harms JA Brand JA Conradie JA Lewis JA
1 1993 (4) SA 720 (A).
2 At 729E-F.
3 At 727E-F.
4 On the nature of the discretion exercised by the court in this regard, see Wijker at 727F-728C. Cf Bezuidenhout v Bezuidenhout 2005 (2) SA 187 (SCA) paras 16-18 and Kirkland v Kirkland [2005] 3 All SA 353 (C) paras 45-51.
5 At 731C-H.
Case-aware research
Ask AI about this case
The judgment and available research above are public. New questions open in a separate private conversation grounded in this case.