Download PDF

South Africa Judgment

South Gauteng High Court, Johannesburg

Mashae v Road Accident Fund (022280/2018) [2019] ZAGPJHC 422 (20 May 2019)

On this page

Professional case brief

Research organized from the available case record

Source document

01

Holding and result

The court found the plaintiff’s version of events to be inherently improbable. The physical evidence and the insured driver’s testimony indicated that the insured driver had entered the intersection first and that the plaintiff failed to stop at the stop street and did not keep a proper lookout. The damage to the insured driver’s vehicle was on the rear left, supporting the conclusion that the plaintiff negligently entered the intersection and caused the collision. The court rejected the argument for apportionment of negligence, finding no negligence on the part of the insured driver. Accordingly, the plaintiff was solely responsible for the accident.

Court disposition

Plaintiff’s action dismissed with costs.

Orders

  • The plaintiff’s action is dismissed with costs.

02

Material facts

Parties

Thapelo Mashae

Plaintiff

Road Accident Fund

Defendant

03

Procedural history

  1. Posture

    Civil Trial / Merits

04

Questions and positions

Legal issues

Party arguments

Applicant
The plaintiff argued that he stopped at the stop street before entering the intersection and that the insured driver’s vehicle suddenly came towards him, causing him to swerve and lose control. He later stated that the insured driver’s car collided with his in a head-on collision.
Respondent
The defendant, through the insured driver, argued that he stopped at the stop street and turned right after observing the plaintiff’s vehicle at a distance. He asserted that the plaintiff accelerated and struck his car on the left rear after he had almost cleared the intersection. The defendant maintained that the plaintiff failed to stop and did not keep a proper lookout.

05

Court’s reasoning

  1. 01

    Apportionment of Damages Act

    A party who fails to stop at a stop street and does not keep a proper lookout is negligent and liable for damages arising from a collision.

  2. 02

    Mashae v Road Accident Fund (022280/2018) [2019] ZAGPJHC 422

    The location of damage on vehicles and the sequence of entry into an intersection are relevant to determining fault in road accident cases.

06

Ratio, limits and disposition

Ratio decidendi

The court found the plaintiff’s version of events to be inherently improbable. The physical evidence and the insured driver’s testimony indicated that the insured driver had entered the intersection first and that the plaintiff failed to stop at the stop street and did not keep a proper lookout. The damage to the insured driver’s vehicle was on the rear left, supporting the conclusion that the plaintiff negligently entered the intersection and caused the collision. The court rejected the argument for apportionment of negligence, finding no negligence on the part of the insured driver. Accordingly, the plaintiff was solely responsible for the accident.

Obiter and limits

  • The court noted that apportionment of negligence is not appropriate where the evidence does not establish any negligence on the part of the insured driver.
  • The sequence of entry into the intersection and the location of vehicle damage are critical in assessing fault in road accident matters.

Court disposition

Plaintiff’s action dismissed with costs.

  • The plaintiff’s action is dismissed with costs.

Source and reliance status

South Gauteng High Court, Johannesburg

This page organises the available record for research. Confirm quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the official source before relying on the case.

Judgment reading view

Judgment text

The complete available source text.

Source document

South Gauteng High Court, Johannesburg

Judgment

[2019] ZAGPJHC 422

(Inlexso Innovative Legal Services) / crn

IN THE HIGH COURT OF

SOUTH AFRICA

GAUTENG LOCAL DIVISION, JOHANNESBURG

CASE NO: 022280/2018

DATE: 2019.05.20

In the matter between

THAPELO

MASHAE

Plaintiff

and

ROAD ACCIDENT

FUND Defendant

J U D G M E N T

YACOOB, J: The plaintiff has brought this action against the Road Accident Fund for various relief and the matter is before me only to determine the merits, in particular the negligence of the parties.

The plaintiff testified on his own behalf and the defendant called two witnesses; the first being the insured driver and the second being the assessor.

The plaintiff testified that he had stopped at a stop street before proceeding forward and while he was still in the intersection he saw the insured driver’s car in front of him in the opposite direction and it suddenly came towards him. He then swerved towards the right and lost control of the car and then does not remember anything further. This was his initial evidence. Later in his testimony he stated that the insured driver’s car

had collided with his. He also stated that it was a head-on collision.

The insured driver testified that he had stopped at the stop street before proceeding to turn right. He had noticed the plaintiff’s vehicle some either 60 or 100 metres ahead. But he considered

that he had time to turn right, particularly taking into account that the plaintiff would also be confronted with a stop street.

However, after he had almost cleared the intersection the plaintiff accelerated and hit the insured driver’s car on the left rear.

In my view the plaintiff’s version is inherently improbable. If he had stopped, then proceeded into the intersection and suddenly while he was crossing the intersection the insured driver had started to move into his path, that is the plaintiff had moved first, then the insured driver would have hit the plaintiff’s car with the front of his car.

The only reason that the plaintiff would have had to try and swerve right in order to avoid the insured driver is if the insured driver’s car was already in front of the plaintiff. In my view the likelihood is that the plaintiff did not stop at the stop street and that he did not keep a proper lookout.

Mr Baloyi suggested in argument that it was clear from the evidence that the plaintiff did not keep a proper lookout and that therefore there should be an apportionment of negligence in terms of the Apportionment of Damages Act. In my view this is not appropriate, because the negligence of the insured driver has not established.

My view is bolstered by the fact that the damage on the insured driver’s car is on the rear left tail light and that this was undisputed, as was his evidence that the point of impact occurred after he had already almost cleared the intersection. This implies strongly that the insured driver had entered the intersection first and that the plaintiff simply went into the intersection negligently.

As a result I find that the collision was due solely to the plaintiff’s negligence and I make the following order. THE PLAINTIFF’S ACTION IS DISMISSED WITH COSTS

…………………………..

YACOOB, J

JUDGE OF THE HIGH COURT

DATE: …………………

Source wording is retained. Consult the source document for its original formatting and pagination.

Authorities

Authorities used by the court

Cases, legislation, regulations, and constitutional provisions identified in the available record.

Mashae v Road Accident Fund (022280/2018) [2019] ZAGPJHC 422

Case cited

Apportionment of Damages Act

Legislation

Legislation referenced in the available case record.

Case-aware research

Ask AI about this case

The judgment and available research above are public. New questions open in a separate private conversation grounded in this case.

About this LexChat collection

This page organizes the available case record for research. Verify quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the source document. Corrections can be reported to hello@esheria.ai.

Legal information, not legal advice. Research summaries do not replace the judgment.