South Africa Judgment

North Gauteng High Court, Pretoria

R.S.M v Road Accident Fund (10405/2018) [2021] ZAGPPHC 275 (25 April 2021)

On this page

Professional case brief

Research organized from the available case record

Source document

01

Holding and result

The court found that the plaintiff suffered severe injuries, including an above-knee amputation, multiple fractures, and permanent disability, with a whole person impairment score of 67%. The court considered the usual factors of age, gender, and occupation, and determined that R900,000 was adequate compensation for general damages. The court accepted that the plaintiff qualifies for general damages under the narrative test due to the loss of a limb. Advocate Matika's submissions distinguished the present case from Msiza v RAF, noting that the impairment scores and injuries were more serious. The court acknowledged the practical difficulties in accessing medical services due to delayed payments by the defendant and accepted that comparative cases may award higher amounts. Given the importance of the matter to the plaintiff and the existence of conflicting judgments, the court exercised its discretion to grant leave to appeal to the Full Bench.

Court disposition

Leave to appeal to the Full Bench is granted.

Orders

  • Leave to appeal is granted to the Full Bench.
  • Costs to be costs in the cause.

02

Material facts

Parties

RS M[….]

Plaintiff Counsel: Advocate Matika

Road Accident Fund

Defendant

Amounts and remedies

  • General Damages Awarded: ZAR 900,000
  • Whole Person Impairment Score: 67

03

Procedural history

  1. Posture

    Leave to Appeal / Application for Leave to Appeal Against Order for General Damages

04

Questions and positions

Legal issues

Party arguments

Applicant
Advocate Matika argued that the plaintiff suffered severe injuries, including an above-knee amputation, multiple fractures, and permanent disability with a whole person impairment score of 67%. He submitted that the reference to Msiza v RAF was distinguishable due to differing impairment scores and that the plaintiff's injuries were more serious. He contended that the left leg and ankle are severely compromised, requiring further surgery and posing a risk of osteoarthritis, and that the court should consider the 'once and for all rule.' He also argued that the plaintiff's unsophisticated background may have led to misunderstanding regarding head injury, and that the 'thin skull principle' applies to her depressive state. He highlighted practical difficulties in accessing medical services due to delayed payments by the defendant and submitted that comparative cases award higher amounts for similar injuries. He relied on s 17(1)(a)(ii) to support the application for leave to appeal where conflicting judgments exist.
Respondent
The Road Accident Fund did not appear and made no submissions at the hearing.

05

Court’s reasoning

  1. 01

    Common law

    The court has a wide discretion to award a sum that is fair and reasonable compensation for general damages.

  2. 02

    Common law

    The purpose of non-pecuniary awards is to restore the claimant, as far as reasonably possible, to the position she would have been in had the accident not occurred.

  3. 03

    Evins v Shield Insurance Co Ltd 1980 (2) SA 814 (A)

    The 'once and for all rule' requires that all damages be assessed and awarded at once, considering future risks.

  4. 04

    Common law

    The 'thin skull principle' requires that the defendant takes the claimant as found, including pre-existing vulnerabilities.

  5. 05

    Road Accident Fund Act 56 of 1996

    Section 17(1)(a)(ii) allows for leave to appeal where there are conflicting judgments on a matter.

06

Ratio, limits and disposition

Ratio decidendi

The court found that the plaintiff suffered severe injuries, including an above-knee amputation, multiple fractures, and permanent disability, with a whole person impairment score of 67%. The court considered the usual factors of age, gender, and occupation, and determined that R900,000 was adequate compensation for general damages. The court accepted that the plaintiff qualifies for general damages under the narrative test due to the loss of a limb. Advocate Matika's submissions distinguished the present case from Msiza v RAF, noting that the impairment scores and injuries were more serious. The court acknowledged the practical difficulties in accessing medical services due to delayed payments by the defendant and accepted that comparative cases may award higher amounts. Given the importance of the matter to the plaintiff and the existence of conflicting judgments, the court exercised its discretion to grant leave to appeal to the Full Bench.

Obiter and limits

  • Comparative cases serve as guides but are not binding on the quantum of damages awarded.
  • Claimants often face practical difficulties in accessing medical services due to delays in payment by the defendant.
  • The reference to HIV status contributing to depressive state should be viewed in light of the thin skull principle.

Court disposition

Leave to appeal to the Full Bench is granted.

  • Leave to appeal is granted to the Full Bench.
  • Costs to be costs in the cause.

Source and reliance status

North Gauteng High Court, Pretoria

This page organises the available record for research. Confirm quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the official source before relying on the case.

Judgment reading view

Judgment text

The complete available source text.

Source document

North Gauteng High Court, Pretoria

Judgment

[2021] ZAGPPHC 275

SAFLII Note: Certain personal/private details of parties or witnesses have been redacted from this document in compliance with the law and SAFLII Policy

IN

THE HIGH COURT OF SOUTH AFRICA

GAUTENG DIVISION, PRETORIA

Case Number 10405/2018

In the matter between

RS M[….]

Plaintiff

And

ROAD

ACCIDENT FUND

Defendant

JUDGMENT

This is an application for leave to appeal against an order I made on 15 December 2020 for general damages. On the trial date the matter proceeded on a default basis, there was no appearance for the defendant.

1. In making an award for general damages the Court has a wide discretion to award a sum that is fair and reasonable compensation to the applicant/plaintiff.

2. A court is also to ensure that the defendant is not unreasonable burdened.

3. The purpose of non- pecuniary awards is to put the claimant, as far as is reasonably possible, back in a position she would have been in had the accident not occurred.

4. In this matter the defendant has tendered an undertaking for 100% of all future medical expenses which the applicant/plaintiff is likely to incur.

5. The experts report that the applicant/plaintiff is to undergo several further surgeries and procedures. I noted the estimated costs thereof.

6. I noted further that the applicant/plaintiff who unfortunately lost her right leg because of the accident, was provided with a walker frame and a wheelchair on discharge from the hospital. I also noted that she attended several occupational therapy sessions where she was able to ambulate with the help of a prosthetic leg and a frame walker.

7. Having considered the usual factors of age, gender and occupation as vendor, my view is that R900 000 would be adequate compensation in the circumstances.

The Injuries

7. Advocate Matika appeared for the plaintiff and he presented the court with a set of heads of argument. He agreed that the plaintiff suffered the following injuries:

7.1 an above knee amputation of the right leg

7.2 left humerus shaft fracture

7.3 left distal tibial shaft fracture.

7.4 left tibial plateau fracture.

7.5 right distal femur fracture associated with femoral injury.

7.6 mild traumatic brain injury, which in my view was doubtful given

that the reports of the neurosurgeon record a mild head injury and in the RAF 4 form a moderate head injury, whilst the clinical psychologist recorded that the plaintiff denied having suffered a head injury. The hospital records do not reflect any treatment for this injury. Although I noted that the applicant sustained a 3cm scar on her upper lip.

7.2 She was scarred on:

7.2.1 left arm (between 1 and 2cm).

7.2.2 upper lip 3cm

7.2.3 right lower limb (the amputated leg)

7.2.4 left leg operation scars

7.3 The plaintiff suffered trauma, emotional shock, disfigurement and was rendered permanently disabled. Her whole person impairment score was assessed at 67% by medical doctors.

7.4 She in any event qualifies for compensation for general damages, on the narrative test as per the requirements of the Act and regulations, due to the loss of a limb.

8. Advocate Matika submitted that my reference to the case Msiza v RAF 2014 (7E 20 QOD 1 (GNP), is distinguishable in that the whole person impairment scores differed, and that this applicant’s injuries were assessed as more serious.

8.1 Counsel further pointed out that in that case the court awarded a higher amount for general damages.

9. Counsel’s further submissions were that:

9.1 the applicant’s left leg and ankle is severely compromised, as it needed further surgery and that she is at risk of suffering osteoarthritis in the future. He submitted the court must bear in mind the “once and for all rule” if she should no longer be able to use the left leg as well in the future.

9.2 the applicant/plaintiff is an “ordinary/unsophisticated” claimant, who in her response to the clinical psychologist regarding her head injury, may in all probability have misunderstood him at the time. He directed me the reports of other experts who confirm that she suffered a mild injury to her head.

9.3 the reference to HIV status contributing to her depressive state should be viewed against the “thin skull principle” i.e., you take your claimant as you find him”.

9.4 the court was also alerted to the fact that in practise, claimants have a difficult time accessing services of medical doctors by way of the undertaking since the defendant delays payments of invoices.

9.5 comparative cases, albeit must serve as guides, do award more for similar injuries.

10. Advocate Matika submitted that in terms of s 17(1)(a)(ii) where there are conflicting judgments on a matter, a court may allow leave to appeal.

11. This matter is of importance to the applicant and her access to proper health care.

Another court may apply its discretion differently, on the facts of this matter.

Accordingly, the application for leave to appeal to the Full Bench, is granted.

I order, as follows:

1. Leave to appeal is granted to the Full Bench.

2. Costs to be costs in the cause.

MAHOMED, AJ

Heard on 22 April 2021

Delivered on 25 April 2021

Appearances:

For applicant: Advocate Matika

Cell no. 073 009 7867

Instructed by: B Dlova Inc

Tel. 012 323 1728

Source wording is retained. Consult the source document for its original formatting and pagination.

Authorities

Authorities used by the court

Cases, legislation, regulations, and constitutional provisions identified in the available record.

Msiza v RAF 2014 (7E 20 QOD 1 (GNP))

Case cited

Evins v Shield Insurance Co Ltd 1980 (2) SA 814 (A)

Case cited

Road Accident Fund Act 56 of 1996

Legislation

Legislation referenced in the available case record.

Case-aware research

Ask AI about this case

The judgment and available research above are public. New questions open in a separate private conversation grounded in this case.

About this LexChat collection

This page organizes the available case record for research. Verify quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the source document. Corrections can be reported to hello@esheria.ai.

Legal information, not legal advice. Research summaries do not replace the judgment.