South Africa Judgment

North Gauteng High Court, Pretoria

Tolofi v Road Accident Fund (28773/2016) [2017] ZAGPPHC 493 (11 August 2017)

On this page

Professional case brief

Research organized from the available case record

Source document

01

Holding and result

The court found the plaintiff to be a credible and reliable witness, with no contradictory evidence presented by the defendant. The insured driver failed to alert the plaintiff before reversing, and the plaintiff could not have reasonably anticipated the insured driver's actions. The negligent driving of the insured driver was the sole cause of the collision and resulting injury. The defendant is therefore held liable to compensate the plaintiff for 100% of the damages proved as a result of the collision.

Court disposition

Plaintiff's claim on the merits succeeds; defendant held liable for 100% of proven damages.

Orders

  • The defendant is to compensate the plaintiff 100% of such damages as the plaintiff is able to prove as a result of the collision which occurred on 2 May 2014.
  • Costs of suit, including the cost of the interpreter.

02

Material facts

Parties

Masekote Edith Tolofi

Plaintiff

Road Accident Fund

Defendant

03

Procedural history

  1. Posture

    Civil Trial / Merits Only; Quantum Postponed

04

Questions and positions

Legal issues

Party arguments

Applicant
The plaintiff argued that she was a pedestrian standing next to the insured driver's vehicle, engaged in conversation, and could not have anticipated that the insured driver would suddenly start the vehicle and reverse, causing injury. She maintained that she acted reasonably and that the insured driver failed to alert her before reversing.
Respondent
The defendant's counsel attempted to establish that the plaintiff did not keep a proper lookout and should have anticipated the possibility of the vehicle reversing, thereby contributing to the accident. However, no alternative version was supported by evidence.

05

Court’s reasoning

  1. 01

    JONES NO v SANTAM BPK 1965 (2) SA 542 (A)

    A person is guilty of culpa if his conduct falls short of that of the standard of the diligens paterfamilias, which is always objective and varies only according to the circumstances.

  2. 02

    JONES NO v SANTAM BPK 1965 (2) SA 542 (A)

    The criterion of the reasonable person is central to the determination of negligence; the reasonable person would foresee harm and take reasonable steps to prevent it.

06

Ratio, limits and disposition

Ratio decidendi

The court found the plaintiff to be a credible and reliable witness, with no contradictory evidence presented by the defendant. The insured driver failed to alert the plaintiff before reversing, and the plaintiff could not have reasonably anticipated the insured driver's actions. The negligent driving of the insured driver was the sole cause of the collision and resulting injury. The defendant is therefore held liable to compensate the plaintiff for 100% of the damages proved as a result of the collision.

Obiter and limits

  • The absence of any alternative version or contradictory evidence from the defendant strengthened the plaintiff's case.
  • The test for negligence is objective and based on the standard of the reasonable person in the circumstances.

Court disposition

Plaintiff's claim on the merits succeeds; defendant held liable for 100% of proven damages.

  • The defendant is to compensate the plaintiff 100% of such damages as the plaintiff is able to prove as a result of the collision which occurred on 2 May 2014.
  • Costs of suit, including the cost of the interpreter.

Source and reliance status

North Gauteng High Court, Pretoria

This page organises the available record for research. Confirm quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the official source before relying on the case.

Judgment reading view

Judgment text

The complete available source text.

Source document

North Gauteng High Court, Pretoria

Judgment

[2017] ZAGPPHC 493

IN

THE HIGH COURT OF SOUTH

AFRICA

(GAUTENG HIGH COURT, PRETORIA)

Case No: 28773/2016

Date: 11/08/2017

In the matter between:

MASEKOTE

EDITH

TOLOFI

Plaintiff

and

ROAD

ACCIDENT

FUND

Defendant

JUDGMENT

NGOBENI, AJ:

INTRODUCTION:

[1] This is a personal injury claim arising from damages sustained by Plaintiff, as a result of a motor collision on the 2nd May 2014 at Puthaditjhaba, whilst Plaintiff was a pedestrian at the time of the collision.

[2] The parties agreed to first deal with the merits of the case; the issue of quantum to be put in abeyance and to be dealt with on a date yet to be decided depending on the decision of the court on the merits.

[3] The parties placed on record that it was not disputed that on 2 May 2014 and Phuthadithjaba, the plaintiff was run over by a vehicle driven by the insured driver. The issue to be decided by the court is to what extent was the insured driver negligent and or to what extent the plaintiff contributed in the accident having occurred.

[4] The common cause facts in this matter are briefly as follows:

4.1 On the date in question there was a meeting at the Phuthadithjaba

community hall where in a meeting had been called by the mayor, his executive and the municipal manager (the insured driver) to address issues in the community;

4.2 The plaintiff, a counsellor at the time in the area, had attended the meeting as well;

4.3 A number of vehicles inclusive that of the insured driver had packed in the yard of the community hall;

4.4 An agreed draft of how the vehicles had been parked was accepted by the court as exhibit " A";

4.5 Immediately after the meeting the insured driver rushed to his vehicle followed by the plaintiff in the company of one Sonto Selepe;

4.6 A conversation ensued between the plaintiff and the insured driver who by then was sitting inside his vehicle on the driver's seat whilst the plaintiff was standing outside next to the driver's door;

4.7 The plaintiff had suggested to the insured driver that they should have a meeting comprising of herself, the insured driver and the mayor regarding a list of young persons within the community who had previously volunteered in a project and wait to be employed on a full-time basis by the municipality;

4.8 The insured driver indicated to the plaintiff that he was in a hurry to Harrismith for another meeting and was not prepared to engage with the plaintiff regarding the persons to be employed on a full­ time basis as he was going to utilise a list which he was in possession of which had been prepared by the Premier;

4.9 It was at that moment that the plaintiff was still engaging the insured driver verbally that he insured driver suddenly started the vehicle and reversed running over the plaintiff's right foot with his vehicles right front tyre, injuring the plaintiff in the process.

[5] Under cross examination the Defendant's counsel attempted to get the Plaintiff to admit that she did not keep a proper lookout and in summary that she should have anticipated the collision which resulted.

[6] The Plaintiff was the only witness who testified and was called in this matter. No alternative version was put to the plaintiff and supported by any evidence. It is clear in the absence of any contradictory evidence that the plaintiff could not have anticipated

that the insured driver would without notice silently start the vehicle and reverse. I find the plaintiff to be credible and reliable and having described the incident with sufficient detail to the court. In evaluating the Plaintiff's evidence as a whole, the Defendant did not in my view succeed in getting the Plaintiff to concede that he did not do everything in his power to avoid a collision.

[7] The test for negligence is summarized by the court in the matter of JONES NO v SANTAM BPK 1965 (2) SA 542 (A) as follows: "A person is guilty of culpa if his conduct falls short of that of the standard of the diligens paterfamilias - a standard that is always objective and which varies only in regard to the exigencies arising in any particular circumstances."

[8] It is trite that the criterion of the reasonable person is central to the determination of negligence. The question then arises whether the reasonable person would have foreseen the harm and secondly whether the harm could have been prevented by taking reasonable steps.

[9] I cannot find any evidence that supports a view that the Plaintiff ought to have anticipated the actions of the insured driver. It is evident that the negligent driving of the insured driver is the sole cause of the collision that resulted in the injury of the Plaintiff. He ought to have alerted the Plaintiff that he was to start his vehicle and reverse.

[9] On the liability thus the defendant is held liable to compensate the plaintiff 100% of such damages as the plaintiff is able to prove as a result of the collision which occurred on n2 d May 2014.

[10] In the result the following order is made:

(1) The Plaintiff's claim in respect of the merits succeeds. The defendant is to compensate the plaintiff hundred percent of such

damages as the plaintiff is able to prove as a result of the collision which occurred on 2nd May the year 2014.

(2) Costs of suit, including the cost of the interpreter.

_____

NGOBENI

AJ

ACTING

JUDGE OF THE HIGH COURT

Source wording is retained. Consult the source document for its original formatting and pagination.

Authorities

Authorities used by the court

Cases, legislation, regulations, and constitutional provisions identified in the available record.

JONES NO v SANTAM BPK 1965 (2) SA 542 (A)

Case cited

Case-aware research

Ask AI about this case

The judgment and available research above are public. New questions open in a separate private conversation grounded in this case.

About this LexChat collection

This page organizes the available case record for research. Verify quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the source document. Corrections can be reported to hello@esheria.ai.

Legal information, not legal advice. Research summaries do not replace the judgment.