Crider v. Collins
- Status
- Judgment
- Jurisdiction
- United States
- Posture
- Appeal From the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims / Dismissed for Lack of Jurisdiction
On this page
Professional case brief
Research organized from the available case record
01
Holding and result
The appeal was dismissed because Crider's arguments attacked only the Veterans Court's application of 38 C.F.R. § 4.16(a) and the underlying factual findings about his ability to maintain substantially gainful employment; under 38 U.S.C. § 7292, the Federal Circuit lacks jurisdiction to review such fact-bound applications of law.
Court disposition
dismissed
Orders
- Appeal dismissed for lack of jurisdiction.
- No costs.
02
Material facts
Parties
RAYMOND S. CRIDER
Claimant Appellant Counsel: ADAM R. LUCKDOUGLAS A. COLLINS, SECRETARY OF VETERANS AFFAIRS
Respondent Appellee Counsel: TIMOTHY G. JOSEPHAmounts and remedies
- PTSD Evaluation Effective August 2018: 70
- Tinnitus Evaluation Effective June 2012: 10
- PTSD Evaluation Effective March 5, 2021: 100
03
Procedural history
Posture
Appeal From the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims / Dismissed for Lack of Jurisdiction
04
Questions and positions
Legal issues
- 01
Whether the Federal Circuit has jurisdiction to review the Veterans Court's application of 38 C.F.R. § 4.16(a) to the facts of Crider's TDIU claim.
- 02
Whether the Veterans Court announced a legal proposition or instead reviewed factual determinations and weighing of evidence.
Party arguments
- Applicant
- Crider argued that the Veterans Court misinterpreted the TDIU standard and improperly heightened his burden, and that his ability to perform meaningful tasks does not constitute substantially gainful employment.
- Respondent
- The Secretary argued, and the court accepted, that Crider's challenge was to the application of the regulation to the facts and to the Board's factual findings, matters outside Federal Circuit jurisdiction.
05
Court’s reasoning
Legal principles
- 01
38 U.S.C. § 7292(d)(1)–(d)(2)
The Federal Circuit may decide relevant questions of law in Veterans Court appeals but may not review factual determinations or a law or regulation as applied to the facts of a particular case.
- 02
Court's discussion applying 38 U.S.C. § 7292(d)
A challenge asserting that the Veterans Court or Board wrongly weighed evidence or made factual findings about substantially gainful employment does not present a reviewable legal issue.
- 03
Janich v. Collins, 168 F.4th 1371; Roberson v. Principi, 251 F.3d 1378
Jurisdiction may exist where the Veterans Court announces a legal proposition interpreting the TDIU regulation, as in Janich or Roberson, but not where it merely affirms factual determinations under the regulation.
06
Ratio, limits and disposition
Ratio decidendi
The appeal was dismissed because Crider's arguments attacked only the Veterans Court's application of 38 C.F.R. § 4.16(a) and the underlying factual findings about his ability to maintain substantially gainful employment; under 38 U.S.C. § 7292, the Federal Circuit lacks jurisdiction to review such fact-bound applications of law.
Obiter and limits
- The court distinguished Janich v. Collins because that case involved a reviewable legal proposition about the TDIU standard, whereas this case did not.
- The court noted that Roberson v. Principi was distinguishable because there the Veterans Court had interpreted 'substantially gainful occupation' to require proof of 100% unemployability.
Court disposition
dismissed
- Appeal dismissed for lack of jurisdiction.
- No costs.
Source and reliance status
Official court record
This page organises the available record for research. Confirm quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the official source before relying on the case.
Judgment reading view
Judgment text
The complete available source text.
Court record
Judgment
Case: 25-1494 Document: 42 Page: 1 Filed: 09/28/2026 NOTE: This disposition is nonprecedential. United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit ______ RAYMOND S. CRIDER, Claimant-Appellant v. DOUGLAS A. COLLINS, SECRETARY OF VETERANS AFFAIRS, Respondent-Appellee ______ 2025-1494 ______ Appeal from the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims in No. 23-5052, Judge Joseph L. Toth. ______ Decided: September 28, 2026 ______ ADAM R. LUCK, GloverLuck, LLP, Dallas, TX, for claim- ant-appellant. TIMOTHY G. JOSEPH, Commercial Litigation Branch, Civil Division, United States Department of Justice, Wash- ington, DC, for respondent-appellee. Also represented by ERIC P. BRUSKIN, DANIEL HOFFMAN, PATRICIA M. MCCARTHY, BRETT SHUMATE; TYRONE COLLIER, BRIAN D. GRIFFIN, Office of General Counsel, United States Depart- ment of Veterans Affairs, Washington, DC. Case: 25-1494 Document: 42 Page: 2 Filed: 09/28/2026 2 CRIDER v. COLLINS ______ Before LOURIE, LINN, and CHEN, Circuit Judges. LOURIE, Circuit Judge. Raymond S. Crider appeals from a decision of the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (“Vet- erans Court”) that affirmed a decision of the Board of Vet- erans’ Appeals (“the Board”) denying him a total disability rating based on individual unemployability (“TDIU”) for the period prior to March 5, 2021. J.A. 1–4 (“Veterans Court Decision”); J.A. 133–41 (“Board Decision”). Because we lack jurisdiction to review the application of a regula- tion to facts, we dismiss.
BACKGROUND Crider served in the Air Force from 1963 to 1966. Vet- erans Court Decision, J.A.
1. In October 2012, he was granted a 10% evaluation for service-connected tinnitus, ef- fective June 2012. J.A.
142. In August 2018, he filed a claim for PTSD, J.A. 19–22, and, after a medical examina- tion, he was granted service connection with a 70% evalu- ation, effective August 2018, J.A.
69. In July 2019, Crider filed a TDIU claim based on his service-connected PTSD. J.A. 77–79. After reviewing the relevant evidence, including the medical examiner’s con- clusion that Crider was “able to work and complete mean- ingful tasks,” the VA rejected Crider’s TDIU claim. J.A. 87, 91–92. Crider filed a notice of disagreement, J.A. 94, and in December 2020 the Board affirmed the VA’s denial, J.A. 105–13. Crider appealed that decision to the Veterans Court. See J.A.
117. While the appeal was pending, the VA increased Crider’s PTSD evaluation to 100% effective March 5, 2021. J.A.
114. In August 2022, the Veterans Court remanded the case to the Board to clarify the stand- ard it used to evaluate the TDIU claim. See J.A. 117–18. Case: 25-1494 Document: 42 Page: 3 Filed: 09/28/2026 CRIDER v. COLLINS 3 On remand, the Board determined that the VA’s in- crease of Crider’s PTSD rating to 100% effective on March 5, 2021 rendered his TDIU claim moot from that date on- wards. Board Decision, J.A.
133. But, as for the time pe- riod before March 5, 2021, the Board reviewed Crider’s treatment records and statements, concluded that Crider was able to obtain “substantially gainful employment,” and thus denied his TDIU claim. Id., J.A. 135–41. The Veter- ans Court affirmed that decision, concluding that “the evi- dence in th[e] case [fell] well short of raising a prospect that . . . Crider [was] capable of only limited or marginal work and not of substantially gainful employment.” Veter- ans Court Decision, J.A.
2. Crider timely appealed. Our jurisdiction is governed by 38 U.S.C. § 7292.
DISCUSSION We have limited jurisdiction to review Veterans Court decisions. We must “decide all relevant questions of law” but we generally “may not review (A) a challenge to a fac- tual determination, or (B) a challenge to a law or regulation as applied to the facts of a particular case.” 38 U.S.C. § 7292(d)(1)–(d)(2). We conclude that we do not have jurisdiction over the instant appeal because Crider challenges only the applica- tion of the TDIU regulation, 38 C.F.R. § 4.16(a), to the facts of his case. See 38 U.S.C. § 7292(d). While Crider argues that the Veterans Court misinterpreted the standard and improperly heightened his burden to show TDIU, see Open. Br. 11–12, the core of his argument concerns the Board’s factual determinations and sufficiency of the evidence in determining whether he was able to maintain substantial gainful employment, see id. at 11–14. For example, Crider’s contention that his ability to perform “meaningful tasks” does not constitute “substantial gainful employ- ment,” id. at 12, fails to create a legal issue over which we Case: 25-1494 Document: 42 Page: 4 Filed: 09/28/2026 4 CRIDER v. COLLINS have jurisdiction. Rather, his dispute is with the underly- ing evidence that informed the underlying decisions, such as the medical examiner’s conclusion that he can perform “meaningful tasks.” In examining the Veterans Court’s analysis of the Board’s
decision, we find no interpretation of the relevant regulation. Rather, the Veterans Court reviewed the Board’s weighing of the evidence––in the form of medical records and treatment statements––and found no error in the Board’s conclusion that Crider’s ability to perform “meaningful” and “work-related” tasks meant he could maintain substantial gainful employment such that he was not entitled to TDIU. See Veterans Court Decision, J.A. 1– 4; Board Decision, J.A. 137–141. Those are all factual de- terminations that are outside our scope of review. A useful comparison here is to our recent decision Janich v. Collins, 168 F.4th 1371, 1374–75 (Fed. Cir. See also Oral Argument, 16:08–17:00, 2026). cafc.uscourts.gov/oral-arguments/25-1494_09102026.mp3 (Appellant counsel analogizing the facts of the instant case to Janich). In Janich, we determined that we had jurisdic- tion over an appeal from a Veterans Court decision that created a “legal proposition”––i.e., that the Veterans Court held that “the ‘substantially gainful occupation’ element of 38 C.F.R. § 4.16 [was] always satisfied by a Board finding of the veteran’s physical and mental capabilities to perform various tasks, and to do work involving such tasks, without regard to whether the work enabled by the veteran’s capa- bilities would be ‘substantially gainful.’” Janich, 168 F.4th at 1374 (emphasis added). But here, there is no
such “legal proposition.” That is, there is no such holding that “‘sub- stantially gainful occupation’ . . . is always satisfied” in specific conditions. See id. Rather, the Veterans Court re- viewed the Board’s weighing of the evidence and Crider’s ability to maintain “substantially gainful occupation” un- der the regulation. Again, those factual determinations are outside our scope of review. See 38 U.S.C. § 7292(d). Case: 25-1494 Document: 42 Page: 5 Filed: 09/28/2026 CRIDER v. COLLINS 5 Crider argues that we have jurisdiction because he brings the same challenge as the appellant in Roberson v. Principi. Reply Br. 1–2 (citing 251 F.3d 1378 (Fed. Cir. 2001)). We disagree. In Roberson, we had jurisdiction to review a Veterans Court decision which erroneously inter- preted the phrase “substantially gainful occupation” in the regulation to require proving 100% unemployability. 251 F.3d at 1385. But here, there is no such interpretation of a regulation to review. As explained above, the Veterans Court did not interpret the TDIU regulation. Rather, the Board weighed the evidence within the proper framework in denying the TDIU claim, see Board Decision, J.A. 137– 141, and the Veterans Court affirmed the Board’s denial, concluding that there was no factual error, see Veterans Court Decision, J.A. 1–4.
CONCLUSION We have considered Crider’s remaining arguments but find them unpersuasive. For the foregoing reasons, we dis- miss.
DISMISSED
COSTS No costs.
Case-aware research
Ask AI about this case
The judgment and available research above are public. New questions open in a separate private conversation grounded in this case.