Download PDF

South Africa Judgment

Labour Court

Grupo Antolin (Pty) Ltd v Numsa (D 356/03) [2004] ZALC 63 (2 September 2004)

On this page

Professional case brief

Research organized from the available case record

Source document

01

Holding and result

The court found that the commissioner had properly considered the evidence and was justified in concluding that the payment of four weeks' severance pay per year of service was a term and condition of employment. The applicant did not challenge the evidence that this policy was communicated and relied upon by employees. The commissioner was entitled to treat the policy as a contractual obligation, and the misrecording of witness testimony was not material to the outcome. The award was not flawless but was not reviewable, and the application to set aside the award was dismissed with costs.

Court disposition

Application dismissed with costs.

Orders

  • The application to review and set aside the commissioner's award is dismissed with costs.

02

Material facts

Parties

Grupo Antolin (Pty) Ltd

Applicant Counsel: Mr. M.B. Pitman

NUMSA

Respondent Counsel: Mr. B. Purdon

03

Procedural history

  1. Posture

    Review Application / Judgment

04

Questions and positions

Legal issues

Party arguments

Applicant
The applicant argued that the commissioner failed to properly apply her mind to the material before her, rendering the award unjustifiable. The applicant contended that the first respondent's members were paid two weeks' severance pay per year of service in accordance with the bargaining council agreement, and that the evidence did not establish a contractual right to four weeks' severance pay.
Respondent
The respondent submitted that AECI, the previous employer, had a policy and practice of paying four weeks' severance pay per year of service, which was communicated to employees and continued after the transfer to the applicant. The respondent argued that this policy became a term and condition of employment, and that the applicant was obliged to honour it. The respondent relied on unchallenged evidence and representations made by management.

05

Court’s reasoning

  1. 01

    Commissioner's Award

    A policy communicated to employees and relied upon by them may become a term and condition of employment, especially where it is not disputed and forms the basis of employee expectations.

  2. 02

    Sidumo v Rustenburg Platinum Mines Ltd [2007] ZACC 22

    In review proceedings, the court must determine whether the commissioner applied her mind to the material before her and whether the award is justifiable on the evidence.

  3. 03

    Commissioner's Award

    The distinction between policy and contract is not fatal to a claim if the evidence as a whole supports the existence of a right.

06

Ratio, limits and disposition

Ratio decidendi

The court found that the commissioner had properly considered the evidence and was justified in concluding that the payment of four weeks' severance pay per year of service was a term and condition of employment. The applicant did not challenge the evidence that this policy was communicated and relied upon by employees. The commissioner was entitled to treat the policy as a contractual obligation, and the misrecording of witness testimony was not material to the outcome. The award was not flawless but was not reviewable, and the application to set aside the award was dismissed with costs.

Obiter and limits

  • The court noted that if the applicant did not intend to honour the four-week severance pay policy, it should have communicated this to the employees so that negotiations could occur.
  • The court declined to make any special order of costs due to the imperfections in the award, but found no basis for review.

Court disposition

Application dismissed with costs.

  • The application to review and set aside the commissioner's award is dismissed with costs.

Source and reliance status

Labour Court

This page organises the available record for research. Confirm quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the official source before relying on the case.

Judgment reading view

Judgment text

The complete available source text.

Source document

Labour Court

Judgment

[2004] ZALC 63

IN THE LABOUR COURT

OF SOUTH AFRICA

SITTING IN DURBAN

Of Interest

CASE NO D356/03

HEARD ON 2004/09/02

Date of judgment 2004/09/02

In the matter between

GRUPO ANTOLIN (PTY) LTD Applicant

and

NUMSA Respondents

JUDGMENT DELIVERED BY

THE HONOURABLE MADAM

JUSTICE PILLAY

ON 2 SEPTEMBER 2004

ON BEHALF OF APPLICANT: Mr. M.B. Pitman

INSTRUCTED BY: Deneys Reitz

ON BEHALF OF RESPONDENTS: Mr. B. Purdon

INSTRUCTED BY: Brett Purdon Attorneys

PILLAY J

[1] This is an application to review and set aside the award of the third respondent commissioner. The issue in dispute was whether the applicant had to pay the members of the first respondent four or two weeks' severance pay.

[2] First respondent had led evidence and made submissions at the arbitration that the applicant had to pay four weeks because:

(1) AECI, the previous employer and owner of the business which was transferred to the applicant, had informed the employees when they were employed that on retrenchment AECI would pay them four weeks' severance pay per year of service or pro rata a part of a year.

(2) AECI had, in fact, paid severance pay at the rate of four weeks per year to employees previously retrenched.

(3) AECI had assured the first respondent's members that, on transfer to the applicant, the following applied:

"Current employee benefits will remain in place for the employees concern. There will be no severance pay (retrenchment benefit) unless the employees are retrenched."

And:

"Should the need arise for employees to be retrenched, the company retrenchment policy will be followed." Mr Piero Rossi, the Managing Director of the applicant, had assured the first respondent's members that, in the event of retrenchment, the AECI's policy will apply. (4) The first respondent's organizer testified that four weeks' severance pay per year of service would have been negotiated at national level and become part of the terms and conditions of employment. [3] The first respondent's members who were retrenched were paid retrenchment pay at the rate of two weeks per year of service according to the bargaining council agreement. [4] The applicant led no evidence at the arbitration, despite indicating to the arbitrator its intention to call Mr Rossi to testify. It is submitted therefore that it was the policy and the practice of AECI to pay four weeks' severance pay per year of service, which policy, on transfer of the business to the applicant, was assumed by the latter.

"Should the need arise for employees to be retrenched, the company retrenchment policy will be followed."

Mr Piero Rossi, the Managing Director of the applicant, had assured the first respondent's members that, in the event of retrenchment, the AECI's policy will apply.

(4) The first respondent's organizer testified that four weeks' severance pay per year of service would have been negotiated at national level and become part of the terms and conditions of employment.

[3] The first respondent's members who were retrenched were paid retrenchment pay at the rate of two weeks per year of service according to the bargaining council agreement.

[4] The applicant led no evidence at the arbitration, despite indicating to the arbitrator its intention to call Mr Rossi to testify. It is submitted therefore that it was the policy and the practice of AECI to pay four weeks' severance pay per year of service, which policy, on transfer of the business to the applicant, was assumed by the latter.

[5] The review is brought on the ground that the commissioner did not apply her mind properly to the material before her. The award is accordingly unjustifiable, it was submitted. In order to succeed in their claim, the first respondent had to prove that its members had a right arising from contract or any other cause. [6] Based on the only evidence before her, the commissioner found that the payment of four weeks was a term and condition of the applicant's employment for the three reasons set out in her award. These reasons are based on the unchallenged evidence of the first respondent summarised above. It was submitted that the commissioner ignored the evidence that it was the policy of the applicant to pay severance pay and failed to draw a distinction between policy and contract. The arbitrator dealt with this issue as follows: "Whilst I am alive to Mr van Niekerk's argument that the applicants' witnesses made reference to 'policy', I am not of the view that this is fatal to their case. I am required to make a determination based on the evidence as a whole and I do not consider myself confined by the terminology used by the witnesses herein."

[5] The review is brought on the ground that the commissioner did not apply her mind properly to the material before her. The award is accordingly unjustifiable, it was submitted. In order to succeed in their claim, the first respondent had to prove that its members had a right arising from contract or any other cause.

[6] Based on the only evidence before her, the commissioner found that the payment of four weeks was a term and condition of the applicant's employment for the three reasons set out in her award. These reasons are based on the unchallenged evidence of the first respondent summarised above.

It was submitted that the commissioner ignored the evidence that it was the policy of the applicant to pay severance pay and failed to draw a distinction between policy and contract. The arbitrator dealt with this issue as follows:

"Whilst I am alive to Mr van Niekerk's argument that the applicants' witnesses made reference to 'policy', I am not of the view that this is fatal to their case. I am required to make a determination based on the evidence as a whole and I do not consider myself confined by the terminology used by the witnesses herein."

[7] It is clear from this extract that the commissioner not only applied her mind to the distinction but also elected to deal with the dispute substantively without being distracted by terminology. As it was not disputed that it was AECI's and later the applicant's policy to pay four weeks per year of service as severance pay, the applicant had accepted such an obligation. [8] By presenting its policy thus, the first respondent and its members were entitled to rely on the representation and to expect that the applicant would act in terms of that policy. If that were not the case, then the first respondent should have been told so that it could negotiate rates that were acceptable to it, if necessary. [9] The commissioner misrecorded what Witness Pillay testified was said by Mr Rossi. Pillay had testified that Rossi had said that the AECI policy would apply. Rossi had not made specific reference to severance pay of four weeks. However, the misrecording is not fatal to the award. [10] Although Malinga's evidence about the negotiations at national level did not read well from the transcript, his evidence that the national agreement became part of the terms and conditions of employment is unmistakable. Besides, the commissioner had the benefit of observing him to understand him better. [11] The award is not flawless. However, it is not reviewable, for the reasons stated above. Because it is not flawless, the Court declines to make any special order of costs.

[7] It is clear from this extract that the commissioner not only applied her mind to the distinction but also elected to deal with the dispute substantively without being distracted by terminology. As it was not disputed that it was AECI's and later the applicant's policy to pay four weeks per year of service as severance pay, the applicant had accepted such an obligation.

[8] By presenting its policy thus, the first respondent and its members were entitled to rely on the representation and to expect that the applicant would act in terms of that policy. If that were not the case, then the first respondent should have been told so that it could negotiate rates that were acceptable to it, if necessary.

[9] The commissioner misrecorded what Witness Pillay testified was said by Mr Rossi. Pillay had testified that Rossi had said that the AECI policy would apply. Rossi had not made specific reference to severance pay of four weeks. However, the misrecording is not fatal to the award.

[10] Although Malinga's evidence about the negotiations at national level did not read well from the transcript, his evidence that the national agreement became part of the terms and conditions of employment is unmistakable. Besides, the commissioner had the benefit of observing him to understand him better.

[11] The award is not flawless. However, it is not reviewable, for the reasons stated above. Because it is not flawless, the Court declines to make any special order of costs.

[12] The order that I grant therefore is to dismiss the application with costs. ____ Pillay D, J

[12] The order that I grant therefore is to dismiss the application with costs.

____

Pillay D, J

4

Source wording is retained. Consult the source document for its original formatting and pagination.

Authorities

Authorities used by the court

Cases, legislation, regulations, and constitutional provisions identified in the available record.

Sidumo v Rustenburg Platinum Mines Ltd [2007] ZACC 22

Case cited

Labour Relations Act 66 of 1995

Legislation

Legislation referenced in the available case record.

Case-aware research

Ask AI about this case

The judgment and available research above are public. New questions open in a separate private conversation grounded in this case.

About this LexChat collection

This page organizes the available case record for research. Verify quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the source document. Corrections can be reported to hello@esheria.ai.

Legal information, not legal advice. Research summaries do not replace the judgment.