Canada Judgment

Federal Court

Hawryluk v. Canada (Attorney General)

On this page

Professional case brief

Research organized from the available case record

Source document

01

Holding and result

The VRAB's decision was reasonable because the documentary record consistently established the applicant's service began in August 1947 and there was no documentary evidence supporting service in 1946; clerical errors in unrelated records did not undermine that finding.

Court disposition

Application for judicial review dismissed

Orders

  • The application for judicial review is dismissed.
  • No order as to costs.

02

Material facts

Parties

Fred Hawryluk

Applicant Counsel: Self-Represented

Attorney General of Canada

Respondent Counsel: Kelly Peck

Veteran Affairs and Appeal Board

Respondent Counsel: Kelly Peck

03

Procedural history

  1. Posture

    Judicial Review / Final Judgment

04

Questions and positions

Legal issues

Party arguments

Applicant
Applicant asserted he began service in 1946, that government records are unreliable and contain errors, and that he should be given the benefit of the doubt and awarded a disability pension for hearing loss.
Respondent
Respondents relied on official documentary records showing the applicant commenced service on August 15, 1947, argued that recorded clerical errors did not affect the critical start date, and maintained the VRAB's decision was reasonable and should be upheld.

05

Court’s reasoning

  1. 01

    Administrative law / judicial review principles of the Federal Court

    Reasonableness is the applicable standard of review for VRAB factual findings

  2. 02

    Veterans Affairs entitlement framework and VRAB practice

    Applicant bears the onus to establish entitlement to veterans' benefits by evidence

06

Ratio, limits and disposition

Ratio decidendi

The VRAB's decision was reasonable because the documentary record consistently established the applicant's service began in August 1947 and there was no documentary evidence supporting service in 1946; clerical errors in unrelated records did not undermine that finding.

Obiter and limits

  • Some government records contained clerical errors but these were unrelated to the critical start date
  • No order as to costs

Court disposition

Application for judicial review dismissed

  • The application for judicial review is dismissed.
  • No order as to costs.

Source and reliance status

Federal Court · 31 March 2014

This page organises the available record for research. Confirm quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the official source before relying on the case.

Judgment reading view

Judgment text

The complete available source text.

Source document

Federal Court

Judgment· 31 March 2014

2014 FC 305

Hawryluk v. Canada (Attorney General) Court (s) Database Federal Court Decisions Date 2014-03-31 Neutral citation 2014 FC 305 File numbers T-946-13 Decision Content Date: 20140331 Docket: T-946-13 Citation: 2014 FC 305 Ottawa, Ontario, March 31, 2014 PRESENT: The Honourable Mr. Justice O'Reilly BETWEEN:

FRED HAWRYLUK Applicant and

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF CANADA AND

VETERAN AFFAIRS AND APPEAL BOARD Respondents

REASONS FOR JUDGMENT AND JUDGMENT I. Overview [1] Mr Fred Hawryluk maintains that he began serving in the Canadian Merchant Navy in 1946 and, accordingly, that he is eligible to receive a disability pension for hearing loss that, he says, was caused by his service. Official records show that Mr Hawryluk began his service in August 1947, too late to be entitled to benefits. However, he states that the government’s records are unreliable and that he should be given the benefit of the doubt. [2] To receive benefits, Mr Hawryluk had to establish that he served before April 1, 1947. Veterans Affairs Canada found that there was no evidence showing that he was on board a vessel prior to August 15, 1947. On reconsideration, a representative of the Minister of Veterans Affairs confirmed the original decision. That decision was upheld by the Entitlement Review Panel, the Entitlement Appeal Panel, and the Veteran’s Review and Appeal Board (VRAB). [3] A key issue in the proceedings was whether there was an error in documents recording when Mr Hawryluk began his service. The VRAB found that the documentary evidence showed that Mr Hawryluk commenced his service too late to be entitled to benefits. [4] The sole issue is whether the VRAB’s decision was unreasonable. [5] I have reviewed all of the evidence before the VRAB and have found that there are, indeed, some errors in the government’s

documents. However, even so, I can find nothing that would render the VRAB’s decision unreasonable. There is simply nothing in the documentary record that supports Mr Hawryluk’s claim that he began his service in 1946. II. The Evidence before the VRAB [6] Mr Hawryluk tendered evidence before the VRAB that showed that he served on two different ships soon after the end of World War II, but those documents did not indicate the year of service. He suggested that he served on one ship during 1946 and on the other during 1947. [7] By contrast, government records show that Mr Hawryluk served on both ships in 1947, having begun his service on August 15, 1947. Mr Hawryluk points to errors in other records and maintains that, as a whole, they cannot be relied on. [8] I have reviewed the records Mr Hawryluk says are unreliable and acknowledge that some contain obvious errors. For example, the record indicates that the ship Grand Hermine was delivered to Lunenburg in January 1950 but was received there in January 1949. Obviously, one of these dates is incorrect. Elsewhere, the documentation states that the ship commenced its voyage in Montreal in August 1949 and ended it in January 1950, so it is likely that the reference to January 1949 is wrong. [9] Another document indicates that Mr Hawryluk served on the Simcoe from November 12, 1947 until December 15, 1945. The latter date is

obviously incorrect; the correct date is December 15, 1947, according to the original documentation. [10] One document has the Federal Mariner leaving St John, New Brunswick on January 22, 1949, while another shows the date of departure as being January 27, 1949. III. Was the VRAB’s decision unreasonable? [11] Mr Hawryluk rightly points out that the government’s records are clearly fallible. Errors were made. [12] However, I am not convinced that the records are so unreliable that the VRAB was unreasonable in its reliance on them. The critical question was the start date of Mr Hawryluk’s period of service. The documentary evidence on that question is clear. He began in August 1947. Errors relating to other periods of time and other ships seemed obviously to be clerical in nature. [13] But I can find no comparable, obvious error in the documentation showing when Mr Hawryluk commenced his service. In particular, the official log book for the Liscomb Park shows that it was delivered to Sydney, Nova Scotia on December 13, 1947. Similarly, the log book for the SS Simcoe shows that it was delivered to Windsor, Ontario on December 15, 1947. Both identify Mr Hawryluk as a crew member. In the latter case, the crew list also indicates that he last served on the Liscomb Park. There is no simply no documentary evidence showing that Mr Hawryluk served prior to August 1947. [14] Therefore, I

cannot conclude that the VRAB’s finding that Mr Hawryluk was ineligible for benefits was unreasonable in the circumstances. IV. Conclusion and Disposition [15] The VRAB’s conclusion that Mr Hawryluk had not established that he served during a period of time that would have qualified him to receive benefits for his hearing loss was not unreasonable on the evidence. [16] I must, therefore, dismiss this application for judicial review. There is no order as to costs.

JUDGMENT THIS COURT’S JUDGMENT is that: 1. The application for judicial review is dismissed.

2. No order as to costs. “James W. O’Reilly” Judge

FEDERAL COURT

SOLICITORS OF RECORD DOCKET: T-946-13 STYLE OF CAUSE: FRED HAWRYLUK v ATTORNEY GENERAL OF CANADA AND VETERAN AFFAIRS AND APPEAL BOARD PLACE OF HEARING: Sydney, Nova Scotia DATE OF HEARING: December 12, 2013 REASONS FOR JUDGMENT AND JUDGMENT: O'REILLY J. DATED: March 31, 2014 APPEARANCES: Fred Hawryluk For The Applicant – Self-Represented Kelly Peck For The Respondents SOLICITORS OF RECORD: Fred Hawryluk 84 Green Rd Sydney, Nova Scotia For The Applicant – Self-Represented William F. Pentney Deputy Attorney General of Canada Sydney, Nova Scotia For The Respondents

Source wording is retained. Consult the source document for its original formatting and pagination.

Authorities

Authorities used by the court

Cases, legislation, regulations, and constitutional provisions identified in the available record.

No structured authorities are available for this judgment.

Refer to the full judgment and official source for citations that have not yet been extracted.

Case-aware research

Ask AI about this case

The judgment and available research above are public. New questions open in a separate private conversation grounded in this case.

About this LexChat collection

This page organizes the available case record for research. Verify quotations, current status, and subsequent treatment against the source document. Corrections can be reported to hello@esheria.ai.

Legal information, not legal advice. Research summaries do not replace the judgment.