Sign in
Canada Source-linked decisions Coverage checked

Canada Case Law

Search judgments by proposition, citation, court, judge or legal topic, then move directly into the source-grounded case analysis.

Courts on this page
1 court collection
Last checked

Canada decisions

Decisions matching the current search

Clear filters
Administrative law 2026 SST 293

KL v Minister of Employment and Social Development

Permission to appeal refused because the applicant failed to raise an arguable case that the General Division erred in finding he lacked the required contributory period (only three qualifying years within the relevant six-year window), and financial hardship cannot override CPP statutory contribution requirements.

  • Cpp contributory period
  • Disability pension
  • Leave to appeal
  • Procedural fairness
Read case analysis
Social security 2026 SST 286

SR v Minister of Employment and Social Development

On the balance of probabilities Claimant did not have a severe disability by December 31, 2008 because contemporaneous medical evidence showed at most minor left‑ear conductive hearing loss and no other documented functional limitations that would preclude work; Claimant's personal characteristics and earnings history indicated residual capacity for substantially gainful occupations, and retrospective evidence and missing records did not establish the required severe and prolonged disability.

  • Disability pension
  • Severe and prolonged disability
  • Minimum qualifying period
  • Onset date
  • Coverage period
  • Burden of proof
Read case analysis
Canada pension plan 2026 SST 262

MH v Minister of Employment and Social Development

Claimant failed to prove a severe and prolonged disability during the narrow MQP (Jan 1–Feb 29, 1988); objective medical evidence from that period is absent, later medical opinion was unreliable on the critical timing, and extensive post-1988 work activity (including multi-year seasonal full-time work with satisfactory performance and EI receipts) demonstrates residual work capacity inconsistent with a continuous severe disability since 1988, therefore appeal dismissed.

  • Disability pension
  • Minimum qualifying period (mqp)
  • Onset of disability
  • Severity and prolongation
  • Work capacity
  • Evidence and credibility
Read case analysis
Canada pension plan 2026 SST 202

MS v Minister of Employment and Social Development

On the balance of probabilities the Minister proved that from June 2010 the Appellant’s earnings met or exceeded substantially gainful thresholds and that her attendance, performance and vocational factors demonstrated she was not incapable regularly of pursuing substantially gainful occupations; therefore she was not disabled under the CPP after May 2010.

  • Cpp disability
  • Substantially gainful occupation
  • Work trial
  • Overpayment
  • Villani factors
Read case analysis
Social security law 2026 SST 251

Minister of Employment and Social Development v ET

The appeal is allowed because the Claimant failed to prove on a balance of probabilities that her impairments were severe by the MQP (December 31, 2019); the available medical records are post‑MQP, lack contemporaneous histories or functional assessments tied to 2019, and are insufficiently probative to establish disability at the relevant date; personal characteristics and financial hardship cannot replace required medical evidence.

  • Cpp disability eligibility
  • Minimum qualifying period (mqp)
  • Medical evidence and probative value
  • Severity and prolongation of disability
  • Burden of proof
Read case analysis
Canada pension plan 2026 SST 194

AK v Minister of Employment and Social Development

The appeal is dismissed because the evidence did not establish, on the balance of probabilities, that the Appellant had a severe and prolonged disability during the MQP ending December 31, 2015: contemporaneous medical records show remission and functional capacity; the 2023 psychiatric opinion is temporally remote for MQP findings; and subsequent self-employment and a later high‑earning assistant manager job demonstrate capacity inconsistent with a prolonged inability to pursue substantially gainful employment.

  • Disability pension
  • Severe and prolonged disability
  • Minimum qualifying period
  • Coverage period
  • Burden of proof
  • Villani 'whole person' test
Read case analysis
Social security 2026 SST 182

BH v Minister of Employment and Social Development

Permission to appeal was refused because the applicant did not present new evidence and failed to establish an arguable case that the General Division made a legal, factual, or mixed error; the General Division applied the correct incapacity test, properly considered and weighed medical and functional evidence, addressed language and literacy issues, and reasonably explained why it rejected the applicant's case.

  • Cpp disability pension start date
  • Deemed disability date
  • Incapacity to apply (ss.60(9)-(10) cpp)
  • Permission to appeal
  • Mixed error review
  • Weight to evidence
Read case analysis
Administrative law 2026 SST 139

EH v Minister of Employment and Social Development

Leave to appeal was refused because the Applicant produced no new evidence and failed to show an arguable legal or factual error or procedural unfairness by the General Division; the General Division correctly applied binding precedent requiring medical evidence during the CPP coverage period.

  • Leave to appeal
  • Standard of review
  • Evidence admissibility
  • Medical evidence during coverage period
  • Natural justice
Read case analysis
Administrative law 2026 SST 128

GP v Minister of Employment and Social Development

Leave to appeal was refused because the applicant failed to raise an arguable case that the General Division made a jurisdictional, legal, factual or procedural error, presented no new evidence, and the General Division correctly applied the statutory one‑year limitation which it could not extend.

  • Leave to appeal
  • Limitation period
  • Jurisdiction
  • Natural justice
  • New evidence
Read case analysis
Social security 2026 SST 127

JK v Minister of Employment and Social Development

The Claimant did not meet the CPP 'severe' threshold as of December 31, 2022 because the evidence showed residual capacity for sedentary work: contemporaneous medical reports showed no significant psychiatric restrictions, objective observations undermined reported physical incapacity, treating physician correspondence was inconsistent, the Claimant completed a nearly two‑hour virtual assessment without observable difficulty, and post‑MQP work interruptions were attributable to events after 2022 (including a 2024 motor vehicle accident and personal family matters) rather than continuous limit…

  • Cpp disability pension
  • Severe and prolonged test
  • Mqp/coverage period
  • Residual work capacity
  • Duty to pursue suitable work
Read case analysis

About this LexChat collection

Canada decisions are organised by court, judge, legal area and indexed issue so a practitioner can move from a proposition to a citable authority with the surrounding context intact.