Sign in
Canada Source-linked decisions Coverage checked

Canada Case Law

Search judgments by proposition, citation, court, judge or legal topic, then move directly into the source-grounded case analysis.

Courts on this page
1 court collection
Last checked

Canada decisions

Decisions matching the current search

Clear filters
Social security 2026 SST 192

BS v Minister of Employment and Social Development

The appeal is dismissed because the Tribunal found the disabling conditions that currently render the Appellant unable to work principally arose after the MQP (the 2019 accident) and the pre-MQP impairments (pregnancy-induced hypertension and post-partum depression and earlier anxiety) were situational or resolved and therefore not prolonged as of December 31, 2017; on the balance of probabilities the Appellant failed to prove a severe and prolonged disability by the MQP.

  • Canada pension plan
  • Cpp disability pension
  • Minimum qualifying period
  • Severe and prolonged disability
  • Functional limitations
Read case analysis
Social security 2026 SST 164

LB v Minister of Employment and Social Development

Time was extended for filing, but leave to appeal was refused because the applicant failed to raise an arguable case that the General Division made a legal or factual error and the new medical evidence was not relevant to the timeliness/jurisdictional issues before the Appeal Division, so the appeal cannot proceed.

  • Cpp disability pension
  • Leave to appeal
  • Extension of time
  • New evidence test
  • Limitation period
Read case analysis
Administrative law 2026 SST 155

MM v Minister of Employment and Social Development

Time to file the leave application was extended to the date actually filed because the claimant provided a reasonable explanation supported in part by existing medical records, but leave to appeal was refused because the claimant failed to show an arguable case of bias by the General Division member and the additional medical evidence was not relevant or arguably relevant to the determinative issues on appeal (the one‑year bar and extension power), so no reviewable error was demonstrated.

  • Leave to appeal
  • Extension of time
  • Bias (impartiality)
  • New evidence
  • Cpp disability pension
  • Procedural fairness
Read case analysis
Social security 2026 SST 127

JK v Minister of Employment and Social Development

The Claimant did not meet the CPP 'severe' threshold as of December 31, 2022 because the evidence showed residual capacity for sedentary work: contemporaneous medical reports showed no significant psychiatric restrictions, objective observations undermined reported physical incapacity, treating physician correspondence was inconsistent, the Claimant completed a nearly two‑hour virtual assessment without observable difficulty, and post‑MQP work interruptions were attributable to events after 2022 (including a 2024 motor vehicle accident and personal family matters) rather than continuous limit…

  • Cpp disability pension
  • Severe and prolonged test
  • Mqp/coverage period
  • Residual work capacity
  • Duty to pursue suitable work
Read case analysis
Social security law 2026 SST 112

WP v Minister of Employment and Social Development

On the evidence the claimant was incapable regularly of pursuing any substantially gainful occupation from October 2022 onward due to combined chronic back and right leg pain with anxiety and depression; medical opinions of long‑standing, non‑improving conditions and consistent functional limitations, coupled with reasonable justification for non‑compliance with psychiatric treatment (side effects, cost, access and trauma), established both severity and that the disability is likely to be long continued and of indefinite duration; applying the 15‑month limitation and the four‑month waiting pe…

  • Cpp disability pension
  • Severe and prolonged test
  • Mitigation and treatment compliance
  • Pension commencement date
Read case analysis
Social security 2026 SST 104

KN v Minister of Employment and Social Development

On the balance of probabilities the appellant's recurrent abdominal hernias and related functional limitations, confirmed by surgical records and testimony predating the MQP, rendered him incapable regularly of pursuing any substantially gainful occupation as of January 2019 and were likely to continue indefinitely; accordingly he met the CPP severe and prolonged test and is eligible for a disability pension, with payments commencing August 2023 under the CPP timing rules.

  • Canada pension plan
  • Cpp disability pension
  • Severe and prolonged
  • Minimum qualifying period
  • Eligibility and payment start date
Read case analysis
Social security 2026 SST 24

MW v Minister of Employment and Social Development

The appeal was dismissed because the Claimant did not prove a severe disability by December 31, 2016: contemporaneous evidence shows residual work capacity (notably full‑time unpaid caregiving comparable to suitable paid work), there was a paucity of medical treatment/evidence around the MQP, and the Claimant did not establish that efforts to obtain or maintain suitable work had failed because of her health by the MQP end date.

  • Canada pension plan
  • Cpp disability pension
  • Minimum qualifying period
  • Severe and prolonged test
  • Work capacity
Read case analysis
Social security 2026 SST 45

TO v Minister of Employment and Social Development

The Appellant failed to prove a severe disability by the MQP date (December 31, 2017) because contemporaneous medical records show no disabling back condition before the February 2018 accident and she worked a substantially gainful job from July to December 2017 earning over $55,000; therefore she was capable of regularly engaging in remunerative employment and is not eligible for a CPP disability pension.

  • Cpp disability pension
  • Severe and prolonged disability
  • Minimum qualifying period
  • Eligibility assessment
Read case analysis
Canada pension plan 2025 SST 1392

Minister of Employment and Social Development v CE

The appeal is allowed in part: the claimant is entitled to a CPP disability pension because she was regularly incapable of pursuing any substantially gainful occupation as of October 2024; application timing and the four‑month waiting period mean pension payments commence February 2025.

  • Cpp disability pension
  • Severe and prolonged disability
  • Onset date
  • Waiting period
  • Substantially gainful occupation
  • Failed work attempt
Read case analysis
Social security 2025 SST 1267

PL v Minister of Employment and Social Development

The appeal is dismissed because the appellant failed to prove on the balance of probabilities that she had a severe disability by the MQP of May 31, 2022: medical evidence showed some limitations but not an extinguished capacity to work before the MQP, she maintained predictable attendance and earnings at substantially gainful levels through 2022, she did not make meaningful efforts to obtain alternative employment despite residual capacity, and employer accommodations were minimal such that continued work reflected real work capacity rather than a benevolent accommodation.

  • Cpp disability pension
  • Minimum qualifying period (mqp)
  • Severity and prolongation of disability
  • Work capacity and substantially gainful occupation
  • Burden of proof
  • Accommodation and benevolent employer
Read case analysis

About this LexChat collection

Canada decisions are organised by court, judge, legal area and indexed issue so a practitioner can move from a proposition to a citable authority with the surrounding context intact.