Sign in
Canada Source-linked decisions Coverage checked

Canada Case Law

Search judgments by proposition, citation, court, judge or legal topic, then move directly into the source-grounded case analysis.

Courts on this page
1 court collection
Last checked

Canada decisions

Decisions matching the current search

Clear filters
Canada pension plan 2026 SST 262

MH v Minister of Employment and Social Development

Claimant failed to prove a severe and prolonged disability during the narrow MQP (Jan 1–Feb 29, 1988); objective medical evidence from that period is absent, later medical opinion was unreliable on the critical timing, and extensive post-1988 work activity (including multi-year seasonal full-time work with satisfactory performance and EI receipts) demonstrates residual work capacity inconsistent with a continuous severe disability since 1988, therefore appeal dismissed.

  • Disability pension
  • Minimum qualifying period (mqp)
  • Onset of disability
  • Severity and prolongation
  • Work capacity
  • Evidence and credibility
Read case analysis
Social security law 2026 SST 251

Minister of Employment and Social Development v ET

The appeal is allowed because the Claimant failed to prove on a balance of probabilities that her impairments were severe by the MQP (December 31, 2019); the available medical records are post‑MQP, lack contemporaneous histories or functional assessments tied to 2019, and are insufficiently probative to establish disability at the relevant date; personal characteristics and financial hardship cannot replace required medical evidence.

  • Cpp disability eligibility
  • Minimum qualifying period (mqp)
  • Medical evidence and probative value
  • Severity and prolongation of disability
  • Burden of proof
Read case analysis
Social security 2026 SST 193

CK v Minister of Employment and Social Development

Appellant failed to prove on a balance of probabilities that her disability was severe by December 31, 2013 and continuously since because contemporaneous medical records and the Appellant's sustained work (self‑employed administrative duties and full‑time school work from Sept 2021–Mar 2023) demonstrate she retained capacity for substantially gainful employment after the MQP; therefore CPP disability entitlement is not established.

  • Cpp disability
  • Minimum qualifying period (mqp)
  • Severe and prolonged disability
  • Work capacity
  • Medical evidence
Read case analysis
Social security law 2026 SST 198

SV v Minister of Employment and Social Development

The July 2022 contemporaneous medical, physiotherapy and vocational reports, supported by expert testimony, established residual capacity for lighter or part‑time substantially gainful occupations; the Appellant failed to make meaningful efforts to obtain alternate employment; therefore he was not incapable regularly of pursuing any substantially gainful occupation by the MQP (Dec 31, 2022), and is not entitled to CPP disability benefits.

  • Cpp disability
  • Minimum qualifying period (mqp)
  • Severity test
  • Prolonged disability
  • Villani factors
  • Burden of proof
Read case analysis
Administrative law 2026 SST 160

FC v Minister of Employment and Social Development

The appellant failed to prove on a balance of probabilities that she had a severe disability by December 31, 2017 because medical records before the MQP only established fibromyalgia with limited and intermittent treatment and visits in 2017, the appellant continued to work through and after the MQP (reporting about 230 hours per month in December 2017), had transferable skills and ability to retrain for sedentary work, and did not demonstrate efforts to obtain or retain suitable work; therefore the disability was not severe and it was unnecessary to decide prolongation.

  • Canada pension plan
  • Cpp disability
  • Minimum qualifying period (mqp)
  • Severe and prolonged disability
  • Work capacity
  • Functional limitations
Read case analysis
Social security law 2026 SST 95

GS v Minister of Employment and Social Development

Leave to appeal refused because the Applicant did not raise an arguable case that the General Division made a legal or factual error and did not present new evidence; the General Division applied the correct legal test, considered the contributory period and relevant medical evidence, and concluded there was no objective medical evidence showing severe disability by the MQP.

  • Leave to appeal
  • Canada pension plan disability
  • Severe and prolonged test
  • Minimum qualifying period (mqp)
  • New evidence
  • Evidentiary standard
Read case analysis
Canada pension plan 2026 SST 85

RO v Minister of Employment and Social Development

The appeal is dismissed because the Appellant failed to prove a severe disability during the MQP: the medical evidence does not show disabling limitations as of December 31, 2010 (mental health issues were situational and improved; CMT/CTS limitations were not shown to be significant before or at the MQP), and the Appellant failed to pursue suitable alternative employment despite residual capacity, thereby failing the burden required under the CPP and applicable case law.

  • Severe and prolonged disability
  • Minimum qualifying period (mqp)
  • Burden of proof
  • Alternative employment obligation
  • Objective medical evidence
Read case analysis
Administrative law 2026 SST 77

AC v Minister of Employment and Social Development

The appeal is dismissed because the Appellant failed to prove on the balance of probabilities that he had a severe disability during the MQP ending December 31, 2017; medical evidence did not establish debilitating mental health or COPD symptoms before that date and subsequent work and activities undermine a finding of a prolonged incapacity.

  • Canada pension plan
  • Disability pension
  • Minimum qualifying period (mqp)
  • Severe and prolonged test
  • Onus of proof
  • Medical evidence assessment
Read case analysis
Social security 2025 SST 1442

GD v Minister of Employment and Social Development

Appeal dismissed because the medical record contains no reliable evidence that the appellant had functional limitations by December 31, 2021 that would have rendered him incapable of substantially gainful work; post‑2021 medical reports are inconsistent and insufficiently linked to 2021, and inconsistencies cannot be resolved in the appellant's favour.

  • Severe and prolonged disability
  • Minimum qualifying period (mqp)
  • Medical evidence and functional limitations
  • Incapacity provision
  • Burden of proof
Read case analysis
Social security 2025 SST 1267

PL v Minister of Employment and Social Development

The appeal is dismissed because the appellant failed to prove on the balance of probabilities that she had a severe disability by the MQP of May 31, 2022: medical evidence showed some limitations but not an extinguished capacity to work before the MQP, she maintained predictable attendance and earnings at substantially gainful levels through 2022, she did not make meaningful efforts to obtain alternative employment despite residual capacity, and employer accommodations were minimal such that continued work reflected real work capacity rather than a benevolent accommodation.

  • Cpp disability pension
  • Minimum qualifying period (mqp)
  • Severity and prolongation of disability
  • Work capacity and substantially gainful occupation
  • Burden of proof
  • Accommodation and benevolent employer
Read case analysis

About this LexChat collection

Canada decisions are organised by court, judge, legal area and indexed issue so a practitioner can move from a proposition to a citable authority with the surrounding context intact.