Sign in
Canada Source-linked decisions Coverage checked

Canada Case Law

Search judgments by proposition, citation, court, judge or legal topic, then move directly into the source-grounded case analysis.

Courts on this page
3 court collections
Last checked

Canada decisions

Decisions matching the current search

Clear filters
Insurance law 2023 ONCA 173

Ontario v. St. Paul Fire and Marine Insurance Company

The court accepted that the application judge misinterpreted the Second Policy’s Occurrence clause and that there was a reasonable possibility of coverage under the Second Policy for Personal Injury (including wrongful detention). However, the appeal is dismissed because the Second Policy required the insured to bear Ultimate Net Loss (including defence costs) up to $5,000,000 before the insurer’s duty to defend arose; Ontario had incurred approximately $300,000 so the application for a declaration was premature and no duty to defend was triggered.

  • Duty to defend
  • Insurance policy interpretation
  • Occurrence clause
  • Fortuity principle
  • Nullification doctrine
  • Self-insured retention
Read case analysis
Insurance law 2021 ONCA 159

Family and Children’s Services of Lanark, Leeds and Grenville v. Co-operators General Insurance Company

The data exclusion clauses are clear and unambiguous and define "data" to include representations of information in any form; the pleaded substance and true nature of both the class action and the third-party claim arises from the display/distribution of the confidential report via internet (including links/images), which falls squarely within the exclusions; therefore Co-operators has no duty to defend FCS or Laridae; applying the exclusions does not nullify the broader policy coverage or offend reasonable expectations.

  • Duty to defend
  • Insurance policy interpretation
  • Data exclusion
  • Coverage dispute
  • Class action
  • Third-party claim
Read case analysis
Strata law 2020 BCCA 367

Wang v. The Owners, Strata Plan LMS 2970

Appeal dismissed. The Court held the proposed appeal from the CRT raised mixed fact and law, not a question of law under s. 56.5 of the CRTA.

  • Leave to appeal
  • Question of law
  • Consent to appeal
  • Implied consent
  • Standard of care
  • Insurance policy interpretation
Read case analysis
Insurance law 2020 BCSC 221

Burnaby (City) v. Intact Insurance Company

The court held that Intact must defend and indemnify Burnaby in an underlying motor-vehicle claim because the pleadings could arise out of the contractor’s operations.

  • Duty to defend
  • Insurance policy interpretation
  • Indemnity
  • Occupiers liability
  • Additional insured endorsements
  • Admissibility of extrinsic contractual documents
Read case analysis
Insurance law 2019 ONCA 858

Byrd v. Allianz Global Risks US Insurance Company

The motion judge correctly applied the pleadings rule: because the pleadings, given the required widest latitude and without a fanciful reading, alleged facts that could possibly bring the claims within the policy, the insurer had a duty to defend; the appeal challenging that conclusion was dismissed.

  • Duty to defend
  • Insurance policy interpretation
  • Pleadings rule
  • Indemnity
  • Costs
Read case analysis
Insurance law 2019 ONCA 55

Ferro v. Weiner

The motion judge erred by focusing on the respondents' use of the cottage rather than their relationship with the named insured; applying settled law the court concluded household membership requires family‑like integration, intimacy and settled intention to share a life, which was absent here; therefore the respondents were not "living in the same household" as the insured and are not covered; the appeal is allowed and summary judgment is entered for the appellants.

  • Definition of household
  • Coverage clause interpretation
  • Insurance policy interpretation
  • Standard of review
  • Liability coverage for seasonal residences
Read case analysis
Civil 2016 ONCA 282

Peters Estate v. Desjardin Securite Financiere

The motion judge correctly applied the Hryniak summary judgment framework and the r.20.04(2.1) powers to evaluate evidence and draw permissible inferences, and concluded the appellant failed to prove on the balance of probabilities that the death was accidental; therefore summary judgment dismissing the claim against Desjardins was upheld, but the dismissal of the separate claim against Metro was set aside because that claim was of a different nature and Metro did not participate in the motion.

  • Summary judgment
  • Accidental death benefit
  • Suicide exclusion
  • Misrepresentation
  • Insurance policy interpretation
  • Appeal
Read case analysis
Civil 2015 ONCA 618

Banque de Commerce et de Placements, S.A. v. Bissma Pacific Inc.

Clause 7 of the insurance policy, properly interpreted in context, treats a buyer's set-off claims as a 'dispute' that suspends EDC's contractual obligation to pay the insured claims; clause 7 defers payment pending determination of the dispute and is not an exclusionary clause to be construed contra proferentem, therefore the motion judge's interpretation was correct.

  • Insurance policy interpretation
  • Set-off
  • Accounts receivable insurance
  • Contractual interpretation
  • Costs
Read case analysis
Insurance law 2015 BCSC 225

Skipper Properties Ltd. v. Zurich Insurance Company Ltd.

The court held Zurich’s wrap-up policy was a liability policy only, so Skipper had no direct right to indemnity for damage to its own property.

  • Insurance policy interpretation
  • Additional insured status
  • Liability vs first‑party coverage
  • Indemnity obligations
  • Policy exclusions
  • Summary disposition
Read case analysis
Insurance law 2014 ONCA 492

Simpson Wigle Law LLP v. Lawyers’ Professional Indemnity Company

The Court held the Statement of Claim advances at least two distinct claims arising from errors/omissions of sufficiently different nature and kind — (1) improper appointment of committees based on failure to disclose powers of attorney, and (2) improvident sales and negligent administration of real property — and therefore they are not "related" under the Policy; the application judge's single‑claim conclusion was set aside.

  • Insurance policy interpretation
  • Coverage aggregation for related acts
  • Definition of "related" errors/omissions
  • Breach of fiduciary duty
  • Conflict of interest
  • Policy exclusions for legal fees
Read case analysis

About this LexChat collection

Canada decisions are organised by court, judge, legal area and indexed issue so a practitioner can move from a proposition to a citable authority with the surrounding context intact.