Sign in
Canada Source-linked decisions Coverage checked

Canada Case Law

Search judgments by proposition, citation, court, judge or legal topic, then move directly into the source-grounded case analysis.

Courts on this page
1 court collection
Last checked

Canada decisions

Decisions matching the current search

Clear filters
Employment insurance 2025 SST 1291

DB v Canada Employment Insurance Commission

Extension of time granted due to reasonable explanation (mail delays from Canada Post strike) but permission to appeal refused because there is no arguable ground: the General Division correctly applied the EI Act to establish the qualifying period and required 630 hours, the claimant raised new facts not put before the General Division (inadmissible), and there was no procedural, jurisdictional or other legal error evident that would allow intervention.

  • Extension of time
  • Leave to appeal
  • Hours of insurable employment
  • Antedating
  • Procedural fairness
  • Record of employment
Read case analysis
Employment insurance 2025 SST 1285

X v Canada Employment Insurance Commission and GL

On the balance of probabilities the General Division found the employer ended the employment relationship on May 27, 2025; the Claimant did not voluntarily leave and therefore is not disqualified from Employment Insurance benefits.

  • Voluntary leaving
  • Just cause
  • Record of employment
  • Medical leave
  • Entitlement to ei benefits
  • Burden of proof
Read case analysis
Employment insurance 2025 SST 1092

CH v Canada Employment Insurance Commission

The Tribunal accepted the CRA ruling of September 2, 2025 on insurable earnings ($56,412.93) and hours (1,848.00) and the employer's revised ROE removing pay‑in‑lieu; applying the statutory formulas and Schedule I produced a weekly benefit rate of $661.00 and 38 entitlement weeks, and because the Tribunal lacks authority to write off overpayments it dismissed the appeal and upheld the Commission's determinations.

  • Allocation of earnings
  • Pay-in-lieu of notice
  • Weekly benefit rate
  • Entitlement weeks
  • General maximum number of weeks
  • Overpayment
Read case analysis
Employment insurance 2025 SST 1077

CE v Canada Employment Insurance Commission

The employer's ROE established on a balance of probabilities that the Appellant earned $1,769.23 for work Sept 3-6, 2024; those gross earnings properly allocate to the week Sept 1-7, 2024 and, when applied under section 19(2) of the EI Act, reduce the Appellant's EI entitlement to zero yielding a $668 overpayment, while the assessed $334 penalty was validly rescinded because there was no knowingly false statement.

  • Earnings allocation
  • Overpayment
  • Penalty rescission
  • Record of employment
Read case analysis
Employment insurance 2025 SST 1003

CA v Canada Employment Insurance Commission

Permission to appeal is refused because the claimant failed to establish an arguable reviewable error: the General Division correctly applied the statutory test that good cause must be shown for the entire delay and reasonably found the claimant did not take prompt steps to inquire about EI entitlement; the alleged language issue did not amount to a breach of natural justice.

  • Antedating claim
  • Good cause for delay
  • Natural justice
  • Record of employment
  • Procedural fairness
  • Standard of review
Read case analysis
Employment insurance 2025 SST 984

SB v Canada Employment Insurance Commission

Permission to appeal was refused because the claimant failed to show an arguable case of jurisdictional error or important error of fact; the General Divisions findings that the claimant was ordinarily resident in southern Alberta, that the qualifying period produced 462 hours of insurable employment and that 665 hours were required under the regional rate were supported by the record, and the Tribunal lacks authority to write off the overpayment, so the appeal has no reasonable chance of success.

  • Overpayment
  • Record of employment
  • Jurisdiction
  • Leave to appeal
  • Benefit period
  • Economic region determination
Read case analysis
Employment insurance 2025 SST 1004

CA v Canada Employment Insurance Commission

The appeal is dismissed because the appellant failed to prove, on a balance of probabilities, that he had good cause for the entire delay from December 1, 2024 to May 28, 2025; the employer’s later recoupment of payments (first noticed February 6, 2025) gave the appellant a continuing reason to inquire, and his prior EI knowledge and available means to inquire negate exceptional circumstances that would excuse the delay.

  • Antedating (initial claim)
  • Good cause for delay
  • Section 10(4) ei act
  • Record of employment
  • Entitlement timing
Read case analysis
Employment law 2025 SST 1202

JR v Canada Employment Insurance Commission

The appeal is dismissed because the CRA ruling established that the appellant worked 394 hours of insurable employment in the qualifying period, which is below the 600 hours required for special benefits; the Tribunal lacks the authority to alter the CRA's determination of insurable hours, so the appellant failed to prove entitlement on the balance of probabilities.

  • Employment insurance
  • Qualification hours
  • Cra ruling
  • Record of employment
  • Reconsideration
Read case analysis
Employment insurance 2025 SST 927

EA v Canada Employment Insurance Commission

The appellant failed to prove good cause for the delay because she did not act as a reasonable and prudent person, did not take reasonably prompt steps to determine her entitlement, and offered no exceptional circumstances; therefore the application could not be antedated and the appeal was dismissed.

  • Antedating applications
  • Good cause for delay
  • Sickness benefits
  • Record of employment
  • Cnesst proceedings
Read case analysis
Employment insurance 2025 SST 1195

X v Canada Employment Insurance Commission and TM

The claimant submitted a conditional resignation proposing an exclusive license and resignation by end of Q1; the employer accepted the resignation the next day but did not accept the attached conditions or discuss them, thereby severing employment; that constitutes a dismissal, not voluntary leave, and the dismissal was not for misconduct because the claimant did not know and should not have known his proposal could lead to dismissal; therefore the claimant is not disqualified from EI benefits.

  • Voluntary leaving
  • Conditional resignation
  • Dismissal
  • Misconduct
  • Just cause
  • Reconsideration decision
Read case analysis

About this LexChat collection

Canada decisions are organised by court, judge, legal area and indexed issue so a practitioner can move from a proposition to a citable authority with the surrounding context intact.