Sign in
Canada Source-linked decisions Coverage checked

Canada Case Law

Search judgments by proposition, citation, court, judge or legal topic, then move directly into the source-grounded case analysis.

Courts on this page
3 court collections
Last checked

Canada decisions

Decisions matching the current search

Clear filters
Immigration law 2026 CF 621

Barry c. Canada (Citoyenneté et Immigration)

La Cour fĂ©dĂ©rale rejette le contrĂŽle judiciaire d’un refus de demande CH, jugeant raisonnable l’analyse sur l’identitĂ©, l’établissement, l’intĂ©rĂȘt supĂ©rieur des enfants et la preuve mĂ©dicale.

  • Humanitarian and compassionate grounds (s.25 lipr)
  • Standard of review (reasonableness)
  • Identity and biometrics
  • Best interests of the child
  • Weight of medical evidence
  • Procedural fairness
Read case analysis
Canada pension plan 2024 SST 1098

RA v Minister of Employment and Social Development

Res judicata confined the relevant period to October 21–December 31, 2005 (the Window); there is no persuasive contemporaneous medical or functional evidence showing a deterioration in the claimant’s work capacity during that Window and treating physician statements relied on were either consistent with pre‑Window conditions or given many years later and thus entitled to limited weight; on the balance of probabilities the claimant did not begin to have a severe disability in the Window, so the appeal fails.

  • Disability pension eligibility
  • Severe and prolonged disability
  • Res judicata
  • Evidentiary admissibility
  • Weight of medical evidence
Read case analysis
Canada pension plan 2024 SST 777

XJ v Minister of Employment and Social Development

The Appellant failed to prove, on the balance of probabilities, that she lacked the cognitive ability to form or express an intention to apply for CPP disability before November 2020 because contemporaneous medical reports showed coherent thought and insight, her activities (consenting to treatment, managing daily tasks) indicated capacity, and the physicians' declarations did not outweigh that evidence; therefore she is not entitled to earlier deemed disability or additional retroactive payments.

  • Incapacity to apply
  • First payment date
  • Capacity to form or express intention
  • Retroactive pension entitlement
  • Weight of medical evidence
Read case analysis
Social security law 2023 SST 797

MA v Minister of Employment and Social Development

The Appeal Division dismissed the appeal because the General Division did not commit a reviewable error of law or fact: it reasonably weighed medical and non‑medical evidence, properly considered the claimant's functional limitations and personal circumstances, and rationally concluded the claimant did not meet the CPP definition of a severe and prolonged disability as of December 31, 2020.

  • Cpp disability - severe and prolonged
  • Functional limitations
  • Real‑world employability (villani)
  • Weight of medical evidence
  • Credibility and impeachment
  • Procedural fairness
Read case analysis
Social security 2021 SST 470

ND v Minister of Employment and Social Development (Minister)

The Appeal Division dismissed the appeal because the General Division acted within its powers, applied the correct legal tests, appropriately weighed conflicting medical and testimonial evidence, and reasonably concluded there was insufficient proof that the claimant lacked the capacity to form or express an intention to apply for CPP disability before January 2018.

  • Incapacity to apply
  • Start date of pension
  • Procedural fairness
  • Weight of medical evidence
  • Grounds of appeal
Read case analysis
Administrative law 2021 FCA 164

Balkanyi v. Canada (Attorney General)

The Appeal Division's decision was unreasonable because it failed to provide adequate analysis showing the General Division had considered whether the applicant's incapacity was 'regular' as required by CPP s.42(2)(a)(i) and applicable jurisprudence (Villani and Vavilov), and therefore the Appeal Division's conclusion could not be justified; the matter is remitted for redetermination and costs awarded to the applicant.

  • Judicial review
  • Reasonableness standard
  • Canada pension plan disability
  • Interpretation of 'severe' under cpp
  • Application of villani real‑world approach
  • Weight of medical evidence
Read case analysis
Administrative law 2020 SST 1030

GL v Minister of Employment and Social Development

The Appeal is dismissed because the General Division acted within its jurisdiction, gave adequate reasons for its assessment of Dr. Nagel's opinion (which did not preclude sedentary work), and properly applied the employment efforts test by finding the Claimant's job search lacked the breadth and regularity required to meet the reasonableness standard.

  • Cpp disability
  • Severe disability test
  • Employment efforts test
  • Weight of medical evidence
  • Jurisdictional scope
Read case analysis
Social security 2020 SST 298

VN v Minister of Employment and Social Development

The General Division applied an impermissibly high standard by requiring confidence and conclusive proof from the psychological assessment; on the correct balance of probabilities and weighing the claimant's testimony together with an uncontradicted October 2018 psychological assessment diagnosing chronic pain disorder with major depressive disorder (GAF 50) the claimant proved a severe and prolonged disability and is entitled to a CPP disability pension effective as found by the Appeal Division.

  • Canada pension plan
  • Standard of proof
  • Severe and prolonged disability
  • Weight of medical evidence
  • Chronic pain
Read case analysis
Social security 2019 SST 205

A. P. v. Minister of Employment and Social Development

The Applicant failed to identify any ground under s.58(1) DESDA that had a reasonable chance of success; merely re-stating medical evidence and disagreeing with the General Division does not show an arguable legal error, and the General Division acted within its fact‑finding authority in weighing medical reports, so leave to appeal is refused.

  • Canada pension plan disability
  • Leave to appeal
  • Minimum qualifying period
  • Weight of medical evidence
Read case analysis
Administrative law 2018 SST 762

Minister of Employment and Social Development v. J. R.

The Appeal Division found the General Division committed reviewable legal error under DESDA s.58(1) by failing to apply required case law (Villani, Lalonde, Kaminski, Monk) in a real‑world severity assessment, by not examining outstanding treatments and the reasonableness of any refusal, and by improperly discounting medical reports solely because they were insurer‑generated and by making an overbroad factual finding that there was "no evidence of work capacity" without acknowledging contrary evidence; accordingly the appeal was allowed and the matter remitted for a new hearing before a diffe


  • Severity and prolongation test
  • Treatment compliance and reasonableness
  • Weight of medical evidence
  • Appeal grounds under desda s.58
  • Remedies under desda s.59
Read case analysis

About this LexChat collection

Canada decisions are organised by court, judge, legal area and indexed issue so a practitioner can move from a proposition to a citable authority with the surrounding context intact.